eLocation Logo

The innovative RTLS technology enables precise indoor location of the transmitters. A simple infrastructure of UWB antennas(via PoE) covers very large areas. Various antennas and transmitters are available to us. Great innovation and precision with a modern technology.


The Worldwide Innovation for INDOOR Navigation

The UWB technology allows the precision of indoor location in a few centimeters.


eLocation-grid

eLocation ?

Today, almost every car and every smartphone has a GPS (Global Positioning System). With it, the position can be determined relatively accurately outside. Unfortunately, the signals of the satellites in the building or in the hall are no longer accessible. This is where eLocation® from LUCA comes in. In some of our solutions for logistics and production, the IPS (Indoor Positioning System) is used. Just talk to us. We will also develop the right solution for you.

Features

  • INDOOR navigation
  • UWB technology
  • Decimetre precision
  • Integrated compass
  • Inclination sensor
  • Acceleration measurement
  • Long battery runtimes

Solutions

  • Forklift guidance systems
  • Automatic Withdrawal confirmation (eLocation®-Watch)
  • Route Train Coordination
  • Sequence Trolley Tracking
  • Container-Tracking
  • Personal protection in danger area (EMERGENCY STOP)

eLocation ®

Locating the objects

The eLocation® enables accurate location of objects equipped with transmitters. In addition to the 3D position, the transmitters can provide further information such as inclination, north pole orientation and acceleration to the LUCA system. For example, the following objects can be located and managed appropriately:

  • Forklifts & Tow Tractors
  • Pallets and pallet cages
  • Container
  • Tools
  • Picking cart
  • Sequence trolley
  • Long battery runtimes

The use of RTLS technology offers us countless possibilities. The innovative and precise technology ensures the reliability of our solutions.

Monitoring access to storage locations

The eLocation® Watch is a solution where the small eLocation® transmitters are attached to the hand of the picker (Watch). In the LUCA system, the storage locations are configured in the detected room. If the picker accesses the room configured as a storage location, the system checks whether the access was correct:

  • If the access is faulty, an error message is generated (light, voice, horn, etc).
  • If the access is correct, an automatic withdrawal confirmation can take place.

With high-performance picking, the method eliminates the need for manual confirmation of picks. The eLocation® Watch ensures quality after the PokaYoke and clearly increases performance.

The UWB technology

The use of Ultra Wide Band technology in INDOOR navigation, allows us to detect the active transmitters with an accuracy of a few centimeters. Unlike conventional radio technologies (such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi), UWB works with time-of-flight of the signal and not based on signal strengths RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication). The very steeply rising UWB radio pulses are very narrow (< 2 nanoseconds) and can be used very well for precise distance measurements in a "noisy" radio environment.

Frequency range: 3 - 7 GHz
Bandwidth: 500 MHz
Number of channels: 6

The exact time difference between the arrival of the signals at the synchronized receivers is based on the TDoA principle (Time-Difference-of-Arrival).

System components

eLocation® consists of active transmitters that are attached to movable objects and receivers that are permanently mounted in the monitored room. The transmitters are equipped with long-term battery, but can also be connected to an external power source (e.g. forklift).
The receivers are supplied with data and power via Ethernet (PoE) over a network cable. The data from the receivers are evaluated in an eLocation® controller and sent to the LUCA-Server sent via LAN.

Battery runtimes

The battery powered transmitter uses only a short period of time to send a UWB message. Therefore, the required energy is very low compared to other radio technologies. Depending on the set frequency of the UWB message (> 20 ms), the battery runtime can be up to 7 years.

Our Premium Partner

Sewio logo
Die innovative RTLS-Technologie ermöglicht eine präzise INDOOR Ortung der aktiven Sender und unterstützt die Kommissioniersysteme. Eine einfache Infrastruktur der UWB-Empfänger (PoE) deckt sehr große Flächen ab.

The Worldwide Innovation for INDOOR Navigation

Die UWB-Technologie ermöglicht die Präzision der Indoor-Ortung in einigen Zentimetern.

Ortung der Gegenstände

Die eLocation® ermöglicht eine genaue Ortung der Gegenstände, die mit Sendern ausgestattet sind. Außer der 3D-Position können die Sender weitere Informationen, wie Neigung, Nordpol-Ausrichtung und Beschleunigung an das LUCA-System liefern. Beispielhaft können folgende Gegenstände geortet und passend verwaltet werden:

  • Stapler & Routenzüge
  • Paletten und Gitterboxen
  • Behälter
  • Werkzeuge
  • Kommissionierwagen
  • Sequenzwagen

Der Einsatz der RTLS-Technologie bietet uns unzählige Möglichkeiten. Die innovative und präzise Technik sichert die Zuverlässigkeit unserer Lösungen.

Überwachung der Zugriffe auf Lagerorte

Die eLocation®-Watch ist eine Lösung, bei der die kleinen eLocation®-Sender an der Hand des Kommissionierers befestigt werden (Watch). In dem LUCA-System werden die Lagerorte in dem erfassten Raum konfiguriert. Greift der Kommissionierer in den als Lagerort konfigurierten Raum, prüft das System, ob der Zugriff korrekt war:

  • Ist der Zugriff fehlerhaft, wird eine Fehlermeldung erzeugt (Licht, Voice, Hupe, etc)
  • Ist der Zugriff korrekt, kann eine automatische Entnahme-Quittierung erfolgen

Bei Hochleistungs-Kommissionierung entfällt bei der Methode die manuelle Quittierung der Entnahmen. Die eLocation®-Watch sichert die Qualität nach dem PokaYoke und steigert eindeutig die Leistung.

Die UWB-Technologie

Der Einsatz von Ultra Wide Band-Technologie bei INDOOR-Navigation, ermöglicht uns eine Erfassung der aktiven Sender mit einer Genauigkeit von wenigen Zentimetern. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Funktechnologien (wie Bluetooth oder Wi-Fi) arbeitet UWB mit Flugzeit des Signals und nicht auf Basis der Signalstärken RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication). Die sehr steil ansteigenden UWB-Funk-Impulse sind sehr schmal (< 2 Nanosekunden) und können in einer “lauten” Funk-Umgebung sehr gut für präzise Entfernungsmessungen verwendet werden.

Frequenzbereich: 3 – 7 GHz
Bandbreite: 500 MHz
Anzahl Kanäle: 6

Die genaue Zeitdifferenz zwischen Ankunft der Signale bei den synchronisierten Empfängern basiert auf dem TDoA-Prinzip (Time-Difference-of-Arrival).

System-Komponenten

eLocation® besteht aus aktiven Sendern, die an beweglichen Objekten befestigt sind und Empfänger, die in dem überwachten Raum festmontiert werden. Die Sender sind mit Langzeitbatterie ausgestattet, können aber auch an einer externen Stromquelle (z.B. Stapler) angeschlossen sein.
Die Empfänger werden per Ethernet (PoE) über ein Netzwerkkabel mit Daten und Strom versorgt. Die Daten von den Empfängern werden in einem eLocation®-Kontroller ausgewertet und an den LUCA-Server per LAN gesendet.

Akku-Laufzeiten

Der mit Akku versorgte Sender verwendet nur eine kurze Zeitspanne zum Senden einer UWB-Nachricht. Daher ist die erforderliche Energie im Vergleich zu anderen Funk-Technologien sehr gering. Je nach eingestellter Häufigkeit der UWB-Nachricht (> 20 ms) kann die Laufzeit der Batterie bis zu 7 Jahre betragen.