Forklift

What is a forklift truck?

A forklift truck transports, pulls, stacks or pushes loads and goods. In logistics, the forklift makes a significant contribution to a smooth and trouble-free flow of materials. The lift truck can be used to transport materials such as pallets, barrels, wire mesh boxes, roll containers, crates or even special containers. In addition to the transport of goods (incoming goods, finished goods warehouse), the use of a lift truck with a Voice Picking device in order picking is conceivable.

Forklift variants? What should be considered?

There are a large number of forklift variants and designs that can be used in warehouse technology.

A distinction is made between manual and mechanical industrial trucks. Manual pallet trucks, also colloquially known as ants or lift trucks, are operated by hand and can transport the stored goods by hand on the storage surface (max. lifting height approx. 100 mm). Their load capacity is limited.

In the case of mechanised vehicles, a distinction is made not only between the type of drive but also between the lifting height and the type of transport. If electric forklifts are mainly used in the warehouse, petrol, diesel or LPG-powered forklifts can also be used outdoors.

The number of masts defines the lifting height: single, double, triple and quadruple masts. This allows loads to be positioned up to a lifting height of 10 - 12 metres.

Depending on the requirements in the warehouse, vertical stackers, horizontal stackers, reach trucks, telescopic stackers, heavy-duty stackers, side loaders, front loaders or even narrow aisle stackers for narrow rack aisles are used. In addition, all-terrain forklifts are available for special outdoor applications.

How can application possibilities be expanded?

In addition to the classic fork-lifting of materials with the lift mast, there are many attachments that greatly expand the application possibilities of forklifts.

  • Fork extensions (overlong stored goods are transported)
  • Clamp fork (clamping around e.g. containers)
  • Roller clamp (transport of cable drums)
  • Carrying mandrel (carry hollow objects)
  • Crane arm (move long goods)
  • Bulk material shovel (for picking up sand or other bulk materials)
  • Tilt carriage (for tipping containers or pallets)
  • Assembly platform (repair work)

Forklift truck manufacturer

Well-known companies are, for example, Jungheinrich or Linde. These also offer used forklifts for sale.

Conclusion

Regardless of whether it is a matter of transporting pallets, storing and retrieving materials or supplying goods within the company - these tasks can be performed flexibly and reliably with a forklift truck. Different applications require adaptable technology, especially against the background of constantly changing requirements in intralogistics.

"Back to Glossary Index

Gabelstapler

Was ist ein Gabelstapler?

Ein Gabelstapler befördert, zieht, stapelt oder schiebt Lasten und Güter. In der Logistik trägt der Gabelstapler wesentlich zu einem einwandfreien und störungsfreien Materialfluss bei. Mit dem Hubgerüst lassen sich Förderhilfsmittel wie Paletten, Tonnen, Gitterboxen, Rollcontainer, Kisten oder auch Spezialbehälter transportieren. Neben dem Transport von Gütern (Wareneingang, Fertigwarenlager) ist der Einsatz eines Staplers mit einem Pick-by-Voice Gerät in der Kommissionierung denkbar.

Gabelstapler Varianten? Was ist zu beachten?

Es existieren eine Vielzahl an Gabelstapler-Varianten und Ausführungen, die in der Lagertechnik zum Einsatz kommen können.

Man unterscheidet manuelle und maschinelle Flurförderzeuge. Manuelle Gabelhubwagen, auch umgangssprachlich als Ameise oder Hubwagen bezeichnet, werden per Hand betrieben und können auf der Lagerfläche (max. Hubhöhe ca. 100 mm) das Lagergut per Hand transportieren. Ihre Tragkraft ist begrenzt.

Bei den maschinellen Fahrzeugen wird neben der Antriebsart auch nach der Hubhöhe und der Transportart unterschieden. Werden im Lager überwiegend Elektro-Gabelstapler eingesetzt, können im Außenbereich auch Benzin-, Diesel- oder Treibgasantrieb zum Einsatz kommen.

Die Anzahl des Hubgerüsts definiert die Hubhöhe: Einfach-, Zweifach-, Dreifach- und Vierfachhubmasten. Damit können Lasten bis auf eine Hubhöhe von 10 – 12 Meter positioniert werden.

Entsprechend den Anforderungen im Lager kommen wahlweise Vertikalstapler, Horizontalstapler, Schubmaststapler, Teleskopstapler, Schwerlaststapler, Seitenstapler, Frontstapler oder auch Schmalgangstapler für schmale Regalgassen zum Einsatz. Darüber hinaus sind Geländestapler für spezielle Außeneinsätze verfügbar.

Wie können Einsatzmöglichkeiten erweitert werden?

Neben dem klassischen Gabeln von Materialien mit dem Hubmast, gibt es viele Anbaugeräte, die die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Staplern enorm erweitern.

  • Gabelverlängerungen (überlange Lagergüter werden transportiert)
  • Klammergabel (Umklammern von z.B. Behältern)
  • Rollenklammer (Transport von Kabeltrommeln)
  • Tragedorn (hohle Gegenstände befördern)
  • Kranarm (Langgut bewegen)
  • Schüttgutschaufel (Aufnahme von Sand oder anderen Schüttgütern)
  • Kippschlitten (zum Abkippen von Behältern oder Paletten)
  • Montagebühne (Reparaturarbeiten)

Hersteller von Gabelstapler

Namhafte Unternehmen sind zum Beispiel Jungheinrich oder Linde. Diese bieten auch Gebrauchtstapler zum Kauf an.

Fazit

Ganz gleich, ob es um den Transport von Paletten, die Ein- und Auslagerung von Materialien oder die innerbetriebliche Versorgung mit Gütern geht – mit einem Gabelstapler lassen sich diese Aufgaben flexibel und zuverlässig erledigen. Verschiedene Einsatzzwecke erfordern anpassungsfähige Technik, insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund sich ständig ändernder Anforderungen in der Intralogistik.

« Back to Glossary Index