Trade logistics

What is trade logistics?

As a definition and explanation, it can be said that trade logistics is understood to be all logistical processes of a company in connection with material and goods flows as well as information flows within procurement logistics. This includes all processes of trade logistics that occur with regard to customers, retailers as well as manufacturers and suppliers and the company or also such logistical processes that happen both inside and outside the trading company.

How does trade logistics work?

Trade logistics works when the internal processes, flows of goods and information meet all the requirements of the merchandise management system and warehouse management through the selection of a concept that is suitable for the trade company and an efficient warehouse strategy. Only then are the required goods and trade goods quickly accessible from the warehouse and goods distribution centres and can be made available for transport to the customer, retailer, manufacturer or supplier by the appropriate service partners.

Basically, trade logistics deals with the question of whether a trading company handles certain trade goods directly and sends them to the customer, retailer or supplier through service partners or whether the trade goods are stored beforehand. The faster the goods arrive at the customer or supplier, the better. Managing this is a major challenge for every trading company and thus for trade logistics.

In order for the flow of goods and ultimately trade to succeed without any problems at all, the flow of information and communication with suppliers is of crucial importance. The information flows of the individual processes from the areas of logistics, warehouse management, procurement logistics and distribution logistics must run precisely and in a coordinated manner.

All deliveries must be precisely coordinated with the needs and requirements of the individual trading companies so that the internal processes and goods flows of the goods distribution centres are not disrupted and, as a result, the storage capacities are not overloaded. This also saves on excessively high storage costs that trade logistics entails.

What is the goal of trade logistics?

The ultimate goal of trade logistics is the effective provision of all trade goods and sales goods in the goods distribution centres in order to minimise storage costs and to generate the optimal profit for a trade company. Both the optimisation of the management processes and the logistics processes in conjunction with an inventory management system that meets the customer's requirements allow a trading company to be successful in the end. 

To ensure that certain products and trade goods are always available at the "point of sale" (POS), the flow of goods must be carefully thought out and systematically planned beforehand. If a trading company has understood the goal of trade logistics, this brings the great advantage of not having to store trade goods and sales merchandise for a very long time, but to handle the respective goods and merchandise more frequently and to ship them immediately to customers or manufacturers through the corresponding service partners. 

Conclusion

In relation to increasing digitalisation and customer expectations, retail logistics has taken on a very important and significant role now and in the future. This means that without a good strategy and a carefully thought-out concept, there is no well-functioning trade logistics for industry or trade. Only through continuous development and change of individual logistics processes in trade and distribution logistics can all customer requirements be met and thus the profit of a company maximised.

"Back to Glossary Index

Handelslogistik

Was ist Handelslogistik?

Als Definition und Erklärung kann gesagt werden, dass man unter Handelslogistik alle logistischen Abläufe eines Unternehmens im Zusammenhang mit Material- und Warenflüssen als auch Informationsflüssen innerhalb der Beschaffungslogistik versteht. Dazu gehören alle Prozesse der Handelslogistik, die sich im Hinblick auf Kunden, Einzelhändler sowie Hersteller und Lieferanten und dem Unternehmen ereignen oder auch solche logistischen Prozesse, die sowohl innerhalb als auch außerhalb des Handelsunternehmens passieren.

Wie funktioniert die Handelslogistik?

Handelslogistik funktioniert, wenn die innerbetrieblichen Prozesse, Warenflüsse und Informationsflüsse durch die Auswahl eines für das Handelsunternehmen passenden Konzeptes und einer effizienten Lagerstrategie allen Anforderungen des Warenwirtschaftssystems und Lagermanagements entsprechen. Nur so sind die benötigten Waren und Handelsgüter aus dem Lager und den Warenverteilzentren schnell zugänglich und können durch die entsprechenden Dienstleistungspartner für den Transport zum Kunden, Einzelhändler, Hersteller oder Lieferanten bereitgestellt werden.

Grundsätzlich beschäftigt sich die Handelslogistik mit der Frage, ob ein Handelsunternehmen bestimmte Handelsgüter direkt umschlägt und durch Dienstleistungspartner zum Kunden, Einzelhändler wie auch Lieferanten versendet oder ob die Handelsgüter vorher eingelagert werden. Je schneller die Handelsgüter beim Kunden oder Lieferanten ankommen, desto besser. Dies zu bewerkstelligen, ist für jedes Handelsunternehmen und somit für die Handelslogistik eine große Herausforderung.

Damit der Warenfluss und schließlich der Handel überhaupt problemlos gelingt, ist der Informationsfluss und die Kommunikation mit den Lieferanten von entscheidender Bedeutung. Die Informationsflüsse der einzelnen Prozesse aus den Bereichen Logistik, Lagermanagement, Beschaffungslogistik und Distributionslogistik müssen exakt und koordiniert ablaufen.

Alle Lieferungen müssen ganz genau auf den Bedarf und die Bedürfnisse der einzelnen Handelsunternehmen abgestimmt werden, damit die innerbetrieblichen Prozesse und Warenflüsse der Warenverteilzentren nicht gestört und infolgedessen die Lagerkapazitäten nicht überlastet werden. Dadurch werden auch zu hohe Lagerkosten, die die Handelslogistik mit sich bringt, eingespart.

Was ist das Ziel der Handelslogistik?

Oberstes Ziel der Handelslogistik ist die effektive Bereitstellung aller Handelsgüter und Verkaufswaren in den Warenverteilzentren, um so Lagerkosten zu minimieren und den für ein Handelsunternehmen optimalen Gewinn zu erwirtschaften. Sowohl die Optimierung der Managementprozesse als auch der Logistikprozesse in Verbindung mit einem den Kundenanforderungen entsprechenden Warenwirtschaftssystems lässt ein Handelsunternehmen am Ende erfolgreich sein. 

Damit bestimmte Produkte und Handelsgüter am “Point of Sale” (POS) immer vorhanden sind, muss der Warenfluss vorher genau durchdacht und systematisch geplant werden. Hat ein Handelsunternehmen das Ziel der Handelslogistik verstanden, bringt dies den großen Vorteil, Handelsgüter und Verkaufswaren nicht sehr lange einlagern zu müssen, sondern die jeweiligen Waren und Güter häufiger umzuschlagen und durch die entsprechende Dienstleistungspartner sofort an Kunden oder Hersteller zu versenden. 

Fazit

In Bezug auf die ansteigende Digitalisierung und Kundenerwartung hat die Handelslogistik jetzt und in der Zukunft eine sehr wichtige und bedeutsame Rolle eingenommen. Das heißt, ohne dass eine gute Strategie und ein sorgfältig durchdachtes Konzept vorliegen, gibt es für die Industrie als auch für den Handel keine gut funktionierende Handelslogistik. Nur durch stetige Weiterentwicklung und Veränderung einzelner Logistikprozesse der Handels- und Distributionslogistik werden sämtliche Kundenanforderungen erfüllt und somit der Gewinn eines Unternehmens maximiert.

« Back to Glossary Index