Just-in-Sequence

What does Just-in-Sequence mean?

The term Just in Sequence (JIS) describes a delivery method in procurement logistics. The JIS process is a further development of just-in-time (JIT) delivery. The delivery of necessary materials for production is delivered in quantity and type as well as in sequence at the exact time required for production. 

The procedure

In order to realize a smooth procurement according to Just in Sequence, to determine the demand and to minimize the effort in the supply chain, an electronic data interchange (EDI systems) and the communication between buyer and supplier is indispensable. A typical application area is the automotive industry. Automobile manufacturers operate this delivery method to perfection. 

The delivery of the parts is both timely and in the correct sequence and position to the assembly line. There, the final assembly of the components to the existing construction takes place immediately.

Just-in-sequence production is oriented to the production cycle. This form of procurement logistics is only made possible by excellent transportation planning. The task of transport planning is to keep inventory and transport costs as low as possible. Elementary features here are the determination of the optimum quantity and calculation of the correct time of delivery so as not to interrupt continuous production.

Advantages of procurement logistics - Just in Sequence

  • no inventory costs at the recipient
  • no stock at the consignee
  • Delivery of the modules to the assembly line
  • Minimum space requirement at the assembly
  • Production-synchronous variants for final assembly

Disadvantages of procurement logistics - Just in Sequence

  • High communication effort between buyer and supplier
  • High dependence on the supplier
  • in the event of complications, risk of production stoppage

Conclusion

When implemented consistently, the advantages for companies outweigh the disadvantages. The process minimizes capital commitment, warehousing is almost completely eliminated and the goods are delivered at the right time to supply the vehicles in the pearl necklace with the right modules. No notification is made in the process.

" Back to Glossary Index

Just in Sequence

Was bedeutet Just in Sequence?

Der Begriff Just in Sequence (JIS) beschreibt eine Lieferart in der Beschaffungslogistik. Der JIS-Prozess ist eine Weiterentwicklung der Just-in-Time (JIT) Belieferung. Die Anlieferung notwendiger Materialien für die Produktion wird in Menge und Art sowie sequenzgerecht in Reihenfolge zum exakt benötigten Zeitpunkt für die Fertigung geliefert. 

Der Ablauf

Um eine reibungslose Beschaffung gemäß Just in Sequence zu realisieren, den Bedarf zu ermitteln und den Aufwand in der Lieferkette zu minimieren, ist ein elektronischer Datenaustausch (EDI-Systeme) und die Kommunikation zwischen Abnehmer und Zulieferer unabdingbar. Ein typisches Einsatzgebiet ist die Automobilindustrie. Die Automobilhersteller betreiben diese Lieferart in Perfektion. 

Die Anlieferung der Teile werden sowohl zeitlich passend als auch in der richtigen Sequenz und Position an das Montageband geliefert. Dort erfolgt dann unmittelbar die Endmontage der Bauteile an die bereitstehende  Konstruktion.

Die Just in Sequence Produktion orientiert sich am Fertigungstakt. Diese Form der Beschafftungslogistik wird erst durch eine exzellente Transportplanung möglich. Die Transportplanung hat die Aufgabe, Bestands- und Transportkosten so gering wie möglich zu gestalten. Elementare Merkmale sind dabei die Bestimmung der optimalen Menge und Berechnung des korrekten Zeitpunkt der Lieferung um die kontinuierliche Produktion nicht zu unterbrechen.

Vorteile der Beschaffungslogistik – Just in Sequence

  • keine Bestandskosten beim Empfänger
  • keine Lagerbestände beim Warenempfänger
  • Anlieferung der Module am Montageband
  • minimaler Flächenbedarf an der Montage
  • produktionssynchrone Varianten für die Endmontage

Nachteile der Beschaffungslogistik – Just in Sequence

  • hoher Kommunikationsaufwand zwischen Abnehmer und Lieferanten
  • hohe Abhängigkeit vom Lieferanten
  • bei Komplikationen Gefahr des Produktionsstillstand

Fazit

Bei konsequenter Umsetzung überwiegen die Vorteile für Unternehmen. Das Verfahren minimiert die Kapitalbindung, die Lagerhaltung entfällt fast vollständig und die Ware wird zum richtigen Zeitpunkt geliefert, um die Fahrzeuge in der Perlenkette mit den richtigen Modulen zu beliefern.

« Back to Glossary Index