Consignment store

What is a consignment warehouse?

By definition, a consignment warehouse is a warehouse of a supplier or subcontractor (called consignor), which is located in the immediate vicinity or on the premises of the recipient (called customer; called consignor). The consignment warehouse is used for the safe and smooth provision of goods by the customer, who regularly notifies the supplier of the withdrawal.

The quantity withdrawn from the warehouse simultaneously triggers a notification to the supplier. The time of removal of items from the consignment warehouse is determined by the customer. The supplier remains the owner of the goods until they are removed. 

Advantages of a consignment warehouse for the customer

Every business owner must find solutions to increase customer satisfaction and sales while saving costs and minimizing capital commitment. A consignment warehouse can be a successful building block for a company. 

The customer does not have to worry about delivery and inventory of goods. The parts are always ready to hand and quickly available for the customer. This increases the satisfaction of the customer. The purchaser also saves on investment costs, does not bear the investment risk for his own goods or parts warehouse and reduces his capital commitment and storage costs.

Advantages and disadvantages of a consignment warehouse for the supplier

The main advantage of a consignment warehouse for the supplier is the stronger customer loyalty and the relative plannability of his sales. The higher capital commitment that the management of one or more consignment warehouses results in for the supplier can be seen as a disadvantage.

Special features

If the registered offices of the supplier and the consignor are located in different countries within the EU, different tax regulations (e.g. VAT) may have to be observed. Both companies require an identification number for the intra-Community movement of goods.

Special form: Supplier Logistics Center (LLZ)

Large customers who require many individual parts, which in turn have to be delivered by different consignments, often set up an LLZ in intralogistics. Think, for example, of an automotive manufacturer that houses separate areas for each consignment in a hall. Each consignment is responsible for inventory management and quality control of the respective storage area and its parts. This allows the manufacturer to focus solely on the production of the vehicles.

Conclusion

As long as the prerequisites are met, a consignment warehouse offers the supplier the opportunity to strengthen customer loyalty. Customers, on the other hand, benefit from the low capital commitment and thus reduce their storage costs. For the optimal cost-benefit balance of a consignment business, a coordinated IT infrastructure is required. This enables suppliers and purchasers to view important data at any time, control essential processes and process notifications of withdrawals automatically.

"Back to Glossary Index

Konsignationslager

Was ist ein Konsignationslager?

Per Definition handelt es sich bei einem Konsignationslager um ein Warenlager eines Lieferanten oder Zulieferers (Konsignant genannt), das sich in unmittelbarer Nähe oder auf dem Gelände beim Abnehmer (Kunden; Konsignator genannt) befindet. 

Das Konsignationslager dient der sicheren und reibungslosen Warenbereitstellung des Abnehmers, der die Entnahme dem Lieferanten regelmäßig mitteilt. Die entnommene Menge löst gleichzeitig eine Meldung an den Lieferanten aus. Den Zeitpunkt der Entnahme von Gegenständen aus dem Konsignatinslagers, bestimmt der Kunde. Bis zur Entnahme bleibt der Lieferant Eigentümer der Ware. 

Jeder Unternehmer muss Lösungen finden, um die Kundenzufriedenheit und den Absatz zu steigern und gleichzeitig Kosten zu sparen sowie die Kapitalbindung zu minimieren. Ein Konsignationslager kann ein erfolgreicher Baustein für ein Unternehmen sein. 

Vorteile eines Konsignationslagers für den Kunden

Der Kunde muss sich nicht um Anlieferung und Bestand von Waren kümmern. Die Teile sind für den Kunden immer griffbereit und schnell verfügbar. Damit steigt die Zufriedenheit des Abnehmers. Der Erwerber spart ebenso die Investitionskosten, trägt nicht das Investitionsrisiko für ein eigenes Waren- oder Teilelager und reduziert seine Kapitalbindung und Lagerkosten.

Vor- und Nachteile eines Konsignationslagers für den Lieferanten

Der Hauptvorteil eines Konsignationslagers für den Lieferanten besteht in der stärkeren Kundenbindung und der relativen Planbarkeit seines Absatzes. Als nachteilig kann die höhere Kapitalbindung angesehen werden, die die Führung eines oder mehrerer Konsignationslager für den Lieferanten ergibt.

Besonderheiten

Wenn sich die Firmensitze des Lieferanten und des Konsignators in unterschiedlichen Ländern innerhalb der EU befinden, müssen unter Umständen unterschiedliche steuerliche Bestimmungen (z. B. Umsatzsteuer) beachtet werden. Beide Firmen benötigen für den innergemeinschaftlichen Warenverkehr eine Identifikationsnummer.

Sonderform: Lieferanten-Logistik-Zentrum (LLZ)

Großkunden, die viele Einzelteile benötigen, die wiederum durch verschiedene Konsignaten angeliefert werden müssen, bauen häufig ein LLZ auf. Man denke beispielsweise an einen Automobilhersteller, der abgetrennte Bereiche für jeden Konsignaten in einer Halle unterbringt. Jeder Konsignat ist für das Bestandsmanagement und die Qualitätskontrolle des jeweiligen Lagerbereichs und seiner Teile zuständig. Damit kann sich der Hersteller allein auf die Produktion der Fahrzeuge konzentrieren.

Fazit

Soweit die Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind, bietet ein Konsignationslager für den Lieferanten die Möglichkeit Kundenbindungen zu stärken. Kunden dagegen profitieren von der niedrigen Kapitalbindung und senken damit ihre Lagerkosten. Für die optimale Kosten-Nutzen-Bilanz eines Konsignationsgeschäfts, ist eine abgestimmte IT-Infrastruktur erforderlich. So können Zulieferer und Erwerber wichtige Daten jederzeit einsehen, wesentliche Prozesse steuern und Meldungen von Entnahmen automatisiert abwickeln.

« Back to Glossary Index