Parallel picking

What is parallel picking?

Parallel picking means that a customer order is first divided into several parallel partial orders by the warehouse management system. Later, the partial orders are picked in parallel in the storage zones (picking zones) by several pickers and then combined into one order again.

Details and simple explanation of parallel processing

In the merchandise management system, the order-oriented entry takes place first. In order to optimise the total picking time (picking performance), the customer order is divided into several storage areas in parallel in the warehouse management system and prepared as a partial order.

Each order is then picked in parallel in separate picking areas by several pickers in totes or shipping cartons (according to the pick list) in the picking process. For the picker, the parallel partial order does not differ from a normal order.

Each item of the order is picked with the picking method used (e.g. picking with Pick-to-Light, Voice Picking, Pick-by-Point®, etc.). Goods are picked normally from the storage bin. To optimise the picking time in the process, the pick time, dead time and travel time should be as short as possible.

Once all the goods have been picked, the individual picking orders must be brought together again in the method. To save the distances, sorters or conveyor technology are often used for this.

Start of the parallel partial orders

To achieve an optimal start of the parallel partial orders, the material flow system must first calculate the optimal start time of the individual orders. Here, the order throughput times in particular must be taken into account. The aim of the optimisation is that all parallel partial orders are completed as simultaneously as possible and thus no waiting times occur.

Merging the parallel partial orders

Once parallel order picking is completed in the warehouse, the individual orders are brought together in an order-oriented manner. The distribution time should be as short as possible for the order picker. The following methods can be used for this:

  • Picking methods for pallet distribution (put-to-point)
  • Accumulation of the goods with a flow rack (optimal picking method put-to-light)
  • Manual sorting of goods with MDE (very outdated and slow)

Once all items have been brought together in an order-oriented manner, dispatch can take place. The selection of the optimal picking method is not covered in this article.

Advantages of parallel picking

Depending on the structure of the supporting picking systems, parallel picking has the following advantages:

  • High performance through order-oriented picking in separate storage zones (important: correct ABC analysis).
  • Short basic times by dividing the tasks among several order pickers.
  • Optimal use of picking methods, such as Pick-to-Light, Voice Picking, Pick-by-Point®, etc. when picking partial orders.

Disadvantages of parallel picking

The disadvantages are defined as follows:

  • The procedure only makes sense for large warehouses with many storage zones (picking zones) and many items.
  • The distribution of customer orders to the sub-orders is not always optimally feasible due to the warehouse structure.
  • High technical effort in merging the parallel orders.

Conclusion

Parallel picking is suitable for large warehouses with many storage zones and high automation (Pick-to-Light, Voice Picking, conveyor technology, sorter systems) for fast picking. Several order pickers can process a customer order at the same time. The merging of partial orders is time-consuming and must be controlled very much with the order picking by the material flow system.

Comparable picking processes

For comparison, read about the other picking methods:

Single-levelpicking
Two-levelpicking
Multi-level picking
Serial picking
Series-orientedpicking

"Back to Glossary Index

Parallele Kommissionierung

Was ist eine parallele Kommissionierung?

Parallele Kommissionierung in der Logistik bedeutet, dass ein Kundenauftrag erst auf mehrere parallele Teilaufträge durch das Lagerverwaltungssystem aufgeteilt wird. Danach werden die Teilaufträge in den Lagerzonen (Kommissionierzonen) von mehreren Kommissionierern parallel kommissioniert und später zu einem Auftrag wieder zusammengeführt.

Parallele Kommissionierung im Detail und einfach erklärt

In dem Warenwirtschaftssystem erfolgt erst die auftragsorientierte Erfassung. Um die gesamte Kommissionierzeit (Kommissionierleistung) zu optimieren, wird der Kundenauftrag in dem Lagerverwaltungssystem auf mehrere Lagerbereiche parallel aufgeteilt und als Teilauftrag vorbereitet.

Jeder Auftrag wird danach in dem Kommissionierverfahren parallel in separaten Kommissionierbereichen durch mehrere Kommissionierer in Behältern oder Versandkartons (gemäß der Pickliste) kommissioniert. Für den Kommissionierer unterscheidet sich der parallele Teilauftrag von einem normalen Auftrag nicht.

Jede Position des Auftrages wird mit der eingesetzten Kommissioniermethode kommissioniert (z.B. Entnahme mit Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Pick-by-Point®, etc.). Aus dem Lagerplatz werden die Güter normal entnommen. Um die Kommissionierzeit in dem Prozess zu optimieren, sollen die Greifzeit, Totzeit und Wegzeit so kurz wie möglich sein.

Ist die gesamte Ware vollständig kommissioniert, müssen die einzelnen Kommissionieraufträge in der Methode wieder zusammengeführt werden. Um die Wegstrecken zu sparen, werden dafür oft Sorter oder Fördertechnik eingesetzt.

Start der parallelen Kommissionierung

Um eine optimale parallele Kommissionierung zu erreichen, muss das Materiafluss-System als erstes die optimale Startzeit der einzelnen Aufträge berechnen. Hier sind besonders die Auftragsdurchlaufzeiten zu berücksichtigen. Ziel der Optimierung ist, dass alle parallelen Teilaufträge möglichst gleichzeitig fertig werden und dadurch keine Wartezeiten entstehen.

Zusammenführung der parallelen Teilaufträge

Ist die parallele Kommissionierung in dem Lager abgeschlossen, werden die einzelnen Aufträge auftragsorientiert zusammengeführt. Die Verteilzeit soll für den Kommissionierer dabei möglichst kurz sein. Dafür können folgende Methoden verwendet werden:

  • Kommissioniermethoden für Palletten-Verteilung (Put-to-Point)
  • Kumulierung der Ware mit einem Durchlaufregal (optimale Kommissioniermethode Put-to-Light)
  • Manuelle Sortierung der Ware mit MDE (sehr veraltet und langsam)

Sind alle Positionen auftragsorientiert zusammengeführt, kann der Versand erfolgen. Die Auswahl der optimalen Kommissioniermethode wird in diesem Artikel nicht behandelt.

Vorteile der parallelen Kommissionierung

Je nach Aufbau der unterstützenden Kommissioniersysteme, hat die parallele Kommissionierung folgende Vorteile:

  • Hohe Leistung durch auftragsorientierte Kommissionierung in separaten Lagerzonen (wichtig: korrekte ABC-Analyse).
  • Kurze Basiszeiten durch Aufteilung der Aufgaben auf mehrere Kommissionierer.
  • Optimale Nutzung der Kommissioniermethoden, wie Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Pick-by-Point®, etc. bei Kommissionierung der Teilaufträge.

Nachteile der parallelen Kommissionierung

Die Nachteile werden wie folgt definiert:

  • Das Verfahren ist nur für große Läger mit vielen Lagerzonen (Kommissionierzonen) und vielen Artikeln sinnvoll.
  • Die Aufteilung der Kundenaufträge auf die Unteraufträge, ist auf Grund der Lagerstruktur nicht immer optimal machbar.
  • Hoher technischer Aufwand bei der Zusammenführung der parallelen Aufträge.

Fazit

Die parallele Kommissionierung ist für große Läger mit vielen Lagerzonen und hohe Automatisierung (Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Fördertechnik, Sorter-Systeme) für schnelle Entnahme geeignet. Mehrere Kommissionierer können einen Kundenauftrag gleichzeitig bearbeiten. Die Zusammenführung der Teilaufträge ist aufwendig und muss sehr mit der Kommissionierung durch das Materialfluss-System gesteuert werden.

Vergleichbare Kommissionierverfahren

Zum Vergleich lesen Sie auch über die anderen Kommissionierverfahren:

Einstufige Kommissionierung
Zweistufige Kommissionierung
Mehrstufige Kommissionierung
Serielle Kommissionierung
Serienorientierte Kommissionierung

« Back to Glossary Index