Database

A database is a software installed on a server or PC. Each database has one or more interfaces. A database user (or application) must first log on to the database system. There, the data is stored in a structured way in the form of tables. A record in a database table consists of various 1-n data fields. The individual fields can have different data types. Access to the individual tables is managed by a database management system (user rights management). Physically, the data is stored in a collection of files.

Relational databases

The relationships between the individual fields of the tables form a certain structure (a database model). The entire dataset can therefore be linked to each other. This is done by indexes and IDs between the individual fields of the data models. The data administration and management of the tables and its relations is done by the software of the database system. The data from different tables thus form a data model. With data indexing, even large amounts of data are answered very quickly via the SQL queries.

The database language

Text-based SQL queries have become the standard language. The queries can be very complex and can be constructed between different relational tables. The amount of data returned can also contain several million records. The individual records are fetched with a cursor. The server system of a database should have as much memory available as possible.

Which databases are available?

Currently, the following databases have become established (dbms):

  • Oracle
  • MS-SQL
  • MariaDB (MySQL)
  • MS-Access
  • DB/2 (currently already very rare)

There are certainly still quite a few databases that are very special or no longer play a role. The security of the data has the highest priority.

Conclusion

The databases manage the data volumes and serve as data containers. In logistics, databases are very important. They are used for customer registration, order entry, picking and shipping or production. The relational database system manages the data objects.

All LUCA systems, such as Pick-to-Light, Voice Picking, Pick-by-Point, etc. use the databases. For more general information on picking in logistics, see the article Picking systems.

"Back to Glossary Index

Datenbank

Eine Datenbank ist eine Software, die auf einem Server oder PC installiert ist. Jede Datenbank hat eine oder mehrere Schnittstellen. Ein Datenbank-Benutzer (oder eine Anwendung) muss sich erst an dem Datenbanksystem anmelden. Dort sind die Daten strukturiert in Form von Tabellen abgelegt. Ein Datensatz in einer Datenbanktabelle besteht aus verschiedenen 1-n Datenfeldern. Die einzelnen Felder können diverse Daten-Typen haben. Der Zugriff auf die einzelnen Tabellen werden von einem Datenbankmanagementsystem verwaltet (Rechteverwaltung für den User). Physikalisch werden die Daten in einer Sammlung von Dateien gespeichert.

Relationale Datenbanken

Die Beziehungen zwischen den einzelnen Feldern der Tabellen bilden eine bestimmte Struktur (ein Datenbankmodell). Der gesamte Datenbestand kann also miteinander verbunden werden. Dies erfolgt durch Indexe und ID’s zwischen den einzelnen Feldern der Datenmodelle. Die Datenverwaltung und Management der Tabellen und dessen Beziehungen übernimmt die Software des Datenbanksystems. Die Daten aus verschiedenen Tabellen bilden somit ein Datenmodell. Bei Daten-Indexierung werden auch große Datenmengen über die SQL-Abfragen sehr schnell beantwortet.

Die Datenbank Sprache

Als Standardsprache haben sich die textbasierten SQL-Abfragen durchgesetzt. Die Abfragen (Query’s) können sehr komplex und zwischen verschiedenen relationalen Tabellen aufgebaut werden. Die zurück gelieferte Datenmenge kann auch mehrere Millionen Datensätze beinhalten. Die einzelnen Records werden mit einem Cursor abgeholt. Das Server-System einer Datenbank soll möglicht viel Speicher zur Verfügung haben.

Welche Datenbanken gibt es?

Aktuell haben sich folgende Datenbanken durchgesetzt (dbms):

  • Oracle
  • MS-SQL
  • MariaDB (MySQL)
  • MS-Access
  • DB/2 (aktuell schon sehr selten)

Es gibt sicherlich noch eine ganze Reihe von Datenbanken, die sehr speziell sind oder keine Rolle mehr spielen. Die Sicherheit der Daten hat die höchste Priorität.

Fazit

Die Datenbanken verwalten die Datenmengen und dienen als Daten-Container. In der Logistik sind Datenbanken sehr wichtig. Sie dienen der Kundenerfassung, Auftragserfassung, Kommissionierung und Versand oder Produktion. Die Daten-Objekte verwaltet das relationale Datenbanksystem.

Alle LUCA-Systeme, wie Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Pick-by-Point, etc. nutzen die Datenbanken. Weitere allgemeine Informationen zur Kommissionierung in der Logistik finden Sie in dem Artikel Kommissioniersysteme.

« Back to Glossary Index