Picking container

What is a picking container?

Picking containers are basically boxes, crates or containers with and without lids that are used to store and pick similar goods and products in different quantities. The material, size and shape of these picking containers depends on the type and quantity of items to be picked. In the most common cases, a container is made of plastic (polypropylene). Storage technology and racking systems enable automatic transport of picking totes. 

Each picking order is assigned one (or more) picking containers (loading equipment) for picking. 

The customer order of an order is picked into the container. As a rule, each picking container has a unique container number (barcode). Order number and tote ID are linked for the duration of picking. Linking picking order and tote ID is important, especially when item units are picked at different picking stations. 

The picking container in logistics

The main function in picking using suitable containers is to work as economically as possible. Picking equipment, picking technology, picking system and picking methods are essential components in optimizing picking. 

In addition to order picking (goods for a customer order), picking totes with the same items (material for assembly kit; preliminary product) are queued in production and at assembly workstations. 

Depending on the industry (wholesale, industrial), such containers can be equipped with individual inlays for very specific products and goods. Various manufacturers offer special designs, e.g. also space-saving containers, which have different dimensions/inner dimensions in contrast to standard picking containers. 

" Back to Glossary Index

Kommissionierbehälter

Was ist ein Kommissionierbehälter?

Bei Kommissionierbehältern (engl. picking container) handelt es sich grundsätzlich um Kisten, Kästen oder Behälter mit und ohne Deckel, die zur Aufbewahrung und Kommissionierung gleichartiger Waren und Produkte in unterschiedlichen Stückzahlen dienen. Das Material, die Größe und die Form dieser Kommissionierbehälter richtet sich nach der Art und Menge der zu kommissionierenden Artikel. In den häufigsten Fällen ist ein Behälter aus Kunststoff (Polypropylen) hergestellt. Lagertechnik und Regalsysteme ermöglichen den automatischen Transport von Kommissionierbehältern 

Jedem Kommissionierauftrag wird ein (oder auch mehrere) Kommissionierbehälter (Lademittel) für die Kommissionierung zugeordnet. 

Die Kundenbestellung eines Auftrages wird in den Behälter kommissioniert. In der Regel besitzt jeder Kommissionierbehälter eine eindeutige Behälternummer (Barcode). Für die Dauer der Kommissionierung werden Auftragsnummer und Behälteridentifikation verbunden. Die Verknüpfung von Kommissionierauftrag und Behälter-ID ist wichtig, besonders wenn Artikeleinheiten an verschiedenen Kommissionierstationen kommissioniert werden. 

Der Kommissionierbehälter in der Logistik

Die Hauptfunktion beim Kommissionieren mit Hilfe von geeigneten Behältern besteht darin, so wirtschaftlich wie möglich zu arbeiten. Kommissioniergeräte, Kommissioniertechnik, Kommissioniersystem und Kommissioniermethoden sind wesentliche Bestandteile bei der Optimierung der Kommissionierung. 

Neben der Auftragskommissionierung (Waren für einen Kundenauftrag) werden in der Produktion und an Montagearbeitsplätzen Kommissionierbehälter mit gleichen Artikeln (Material für Montagekit; Vorprodukt) angestellt. 

Je nach Industriezweig (Großhandel, Industrie) können solche Behälter mit individuellen Inlays für ganz bestimmte Produkte und Waren ausgestattet sein. Verschiedene Hersteller bieten Spezialausführungen, z.B. auch Raumsparbehälter, die im Gegensatz zu Standard-Kommissionierbehälter andere Maße/Innenmaße haben. 

« Back to Glossary Index