picking systems

Picking systems - Hololens in action

Picking systems are the most important components of a warehouse and production. Each warehouse and production line itself is very specific and poses different picking challenges. This is exactly the reason why it is not possible to create a universal picking system for all applications. It is therefore all the more important to first carry out a solid and thorough analysis of requirements. The resulting results must cover the actual demand. Only in a further step the individual picking techniques are considered. Those who first deal with the technology themselves and are too strongly focused on it without properly understanding the process will not be successful. First plan independently, then build. How is it possible to look at all these technologies at the same time? Are they not completely different "worlds"? We will provide you with the answer.

Share this article:

In this and other articles we would like to introduce you not only to our LUCA systems and their use, but also to give you a detailed insight into the various possible combinations. We will also explain to you which picking systems fit together and how best to use them.

What are picking systems?

Not everyone takes the question for granted. That's how we're gonna answer them. Imagine a big camp. Many articles or semi-finished products are stored in shelves or on pallets. The customer or production orders a certain number of articles. We've all ordered something online, haven't we...?

The order is first checked and the stock is checked. If the goods exist, the WMS (Warehouse Management System) generates a picking order. Certain articles or products must now be searched for in the appropriate quantities from the storage compartments and taken along for packaging. The process is called "picking".

This is exactly where the picking systems come in. You are to support the employee in the warehouse during picking. Depending on the storage type, there are many requirements. LUCA is currently developing and supplying various picking systems to guarantee optimum performance and quality. Read more about picking at Wikipedia.

If you want to know more, then read on, or just talk to us Contact

The best picking systems?

Many scientists and researchers have been dealing with this question for several years. We are repeatedly asked whether there are picking systems that can do everything. The question is like, "Which car is the best?"

The answer here is very simple: "none of the picking systems is the best". It is simply not possible to build one single solution and thus fulfil all tasks and requirements. Every warehouse is different. Every customer order and every industry has its own focus. At LUCA we understood the task years ago and therefore offer ALL order picking systems. Thanks to the professional software of the LUCA server, the different technologies are controlled together.

Certainly some solutions are so specific that they only make sense for certain requirements. Some of them are currently very standardized and fulfill most tasks very well. These always include the standard systems, such as Pick by Light, Pick by Voice, Pick by Point, Pick by Frame, etc. Others are new and very innovative. Whether the innovations are really practical will be seen later.

The main differences

First and foremost, we need to differentiate order picking systems according to the type of automation. In some warehouses and productions it does not make sense to use complex and expensive automation. On the other hand, a high-performance shipping warehouse cannot be fully operated without automation. This results in the following breakdown:

  • Fully automatic order picking
  • Semi-automatic picking with conveyor technology
  • Manual order picking systems

Fully automatic order picking

A fully automatic picking system can only be used for certain articles and mostly for very high outputs. Even the very high costs have to justify the investments. On the other hand, the fully automatic picking systems can be used where an absolutely high quality is expected (e.g. pharmacies). The goods are picked fully automatically and transported to the packaging, e.g. via a conveyor system. The replenishment of the fully automated systems is also often automatic. In the method, the articles, as well as the packaging, must fulfil certain conditions.

In order to be able to operate a fully automatic system, a highly qualified technical staff is required. Constant monitoring of the systems and immediate reaction in the event of faults are essential.

Due to the high costs and special article features, the fully automatic picking systems are not very common.

Semi-automatic picking with conveyor technology

Semi-automatic order picking is often equipped with a conveyor system itself. An example of this are the classic dispatch systems. Automatic or manual carton erectors are used to prepare the cartons. The cartons are transported to the individual picking zones via a conveyor system. And this is where the various picking systems are used. Depending on the storage type, pick-by-scan, pick-by-watch, etc. is Pick-by-Lightused.

Which picking technology is used there again depends strongly on various factors. Here the A/B/C analysis is decisive, as well as the article spectrum and the packaging. Even the pallets, mesh boxes, flow racks, shelving racks, etc. are also among the most important criteria when deciding on the picking method.

After picking, the cartons or totes leave the picking zones again and reach the outgoing goods area via the conveyor system. This is where the final packaging, labelling and dispatch take place. Static or continuous scales are also often used there. The actual shipping weight plays an important role in the costs. This example of a classical shipping plant describes exactly one "man to goods" method.

We distinguish between:

  • Man to goods
  • Goods to man

When using an automatic warehouse (AKL or HRL) and a picking pre-zone, the goods are automatically moved from the warehouse to the picker, whereby the transport is also carried out via the conveyor system. At the workstations the goods are automatically offered to the picker (goods to man). In this case, the systems try to distribute the individual picking to as many orders as possible. For the distribution of the articles different picking systems and shelf techniques are also used: e.g. Put-to-Light, Put-to-Point®, etc. Here we also speak of a special type of order consolidation.

Basically, semi-automatic order picking systems are very widespread. The costs of hardware and implementation for semi-automatic picking systems are kept within manageable limits. The design of the systems is often not too technically demanding, so that highly qualified personnel is not required. Annual maintenance is usually sufficient for the systems. Therefore, the operating costs of the plants are also very balanced.

Manual order picking systems

The focus of manual order picking systems is always on people. The technical equipment is intended to facilitate the picker's work, guide him and signal possible errors.

In many warehouses only forklifts or picking trolleys are used. In most cases the warehouses are very large and consist of many alleys and corridors. Different shelf techniques are also used here (pallets, flow racks, shelving, etc.). For this reason, the picking systems also have to be structured differently.

In a picking warehouse, where only pallets are picked, forklift terminals are completely sufficient. On the other hand, the small parts and small containers find their place in shelves or flow racks. Picking trolleys are better suited for picking. In order to use the right picking system, different criteria have to be considered. There is no optimal solution for all these tasks.

Not only the storage methods, but also the order structures are decisive for this. In addition, the size, weight and volume of the orders also play a very important role. In order to take all these characteristics into account correctly, it is very important to carry out a correct planning of the picking systems. You will also find useful information and tips in the further course of the article.

Type of manual picking

One of the important additional criteria for the correct selection of manual picking systems is the type of picking. There are the following differences:

  • single order picking
  • Multi-Order-Picking

In addition we will give you detailed information in further articles.

Among the most frequently used manual picking methods are
Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Pick-by-Frame®, Pick-by-Point®, Pick-by-Watch, Pick-by-Tablet, etc.

It used to be a robot ...

At this point I would like to mention an example from practice that I experienced with a customer. This example shows how a bearing should NOT be rebuilt at the moment.

The story took place around 2001 and the customer had a well functioning manual picking system. The entire daily requirement was handled by 3 pickers. A relatively manageable Pick-by-Lightinstallation with a small conveyor system was used as picking system. The customer picked mobile phones. For whatever reason, the management decided to use a KUKA robot for picking, which should pick the mobile phones fully automatically.

The idea wasn't half bad at first. Picking for 24 hours. The mobile phone business was very future-oriented. The items were clearly defined: small boxes. The Pick-by-Lightshelves and the conveyor system were rebuilt. The robot with its coloured arm was finally there. Commissioning was relatively easy. The only robot provided the same performance as the three pickers. Everything was good, but ...

...but

Sometimes, however, the robot did not grip the carton optimally with its mobile phone. Perhaps the cartons on the shelves were not so optimal. There were some interferences per shift. Troubleshooting was not always so easy. So... Skilled personnel here!

Instead of 3 order pickers, the company had to hire 4 highly paid and highly qualified technicians to supervise the robot 24 hours a day. After a few months of operation, the robot unfortunately had to find another use.

It is therefore not always sensible to introduce automation. First there has to be a correct planning and understanding of the problem. In the next chapter we will show you a correct procedure.

The correct planning and the concept

We often experience that the customer is already very fixated on a certain technology at the time of the inquiry. Sometimes these are the new fads, like pick-by-vision and sometimes the proven technologies, like Pick-by-Light or Pick-by-Voice. Again and again, the focus is not on the process and the concept, but only on the technology. Unfortunately this is not optimal. Without a correct task analysis it is not possible to build up optimal picking systems.

Finding the right picking system?

Years ago, only slips of paper or HDT scanners were in use. Only a few companies could Pick-by-Voice afford this, or had it tried and testedPick-by-Light . With the technical development the number of possibilities and solutions has increased a lot. However, the choice of technology should not be based on "fashion" but on the real needs of employees and processes. The picking systems should always be supportive and not serve as control mechanisms for the employees.

To answer the question, the planner must first understand the current and planned process in detail. Unfortunately, we often experience that this is not the case. Only after a thorough analysis can the appropriate picking system be selected. We also offer workshops and not only answer your questions, but also offer concrete solutions. Talk to us.

Combination of picking systems

Some combinations of the picking systems prove to be particularly efficient. As an example, the problem with the checksums and performance of the classic Pick-by-Voice one is very well suited here. At high performance the employee has to "talk" to the system a lot; confirmation of the aisle, confirmation of the checksum, confirmation of the quantity, possible confirmation of the batch. All this takes a lot of time. In addition, the employee must have a good spatial orientation to find the storage locations. The orientation problems and the annoying confirmations of the same checksums, which are learned by heart anyway, are solved by the combination with the Pick-by-Point®.

The Pick-by-Point® light shows the storage compartment with a large dot. The employee then only confirms the quantity withdrawn. The combination of picking systems is very efficient and flexible.

Then why is LUCA so special?

There are many suppliers of individual order picking systems on the market. However, this is rarely enough to offer an optimal solution. We supply all systems from a single source and control them centrally via our LUCA server software. We support our customers and planners not only in the creation of the systems, but also in the planning phase.

The LUCA systems control order picking and the material flow of the entire plants, as well as individual small and large plants. We have maintained very good partnerships with our hardware suppliers for many years and offer only the best components (e.g. Zebra, SICK, Datalogic, etc.)

Conclusion

LUCA offers many order picking systems, which allows an optimized solution to be created. In some cases it makes sense to even use the individual systems as a combination. The focus in the planning should be the concept and the solution and not only the technology. Talk to us. LUCA is very specialized in order picking systems and develops professional solutions for warehouse logistics and production.

Thank you very much for your time.


Order newsletter

Kommissioniersysteme sind die wichtigsten Bestandteile eines Lagers und einer Produktion. Jedes Lager und jede Produktionslinie sind sehr spezifisch und stellen unterschiedliche Herausforderungen für die Kommissionierung. Genau aus dem Grund ist es nicht möglich, ein universales Kommissioniersystem für alle Anwendungsfälle zu erstellen. Desto wichtiger ist es, erst eine solide und gründliche Bedarfsanalyse zu erstellen. Daraus resultierende Ergebnisse müssen den tatsächlichen Bedarf abdecken. Erst in einem weiteren Schritt werden die einzelnen Kommissioniertechniken betrachtet. Wer sich erst mit der Technik beschäftigt und darauf zu stark fixiert ist, ohne den Prozess richtig zu verstehen, wird keinen Erfolg haben. Erst unabhängig planen, dann bauen. Wie ist das möglich, alle dieser Techniken gleichzeitig zu betrachten? Sind das nicht völlig unterschiedliche „Welten“? Wir werden Ihnen die Antwort dafür liefern.

In diesem und weiteren Beiträgen möchten wir Ihnen nicht nur unsere LUCA-Systeme und deren Einsatz vorstellen, sondern auch einen genauen Einblick in die verschiedenen Kombinationsmöglichkeiten detailliert geben. Wir werden Ihnen auch erklären, welche Kommissioniersysteme zusammen passen und wie sie am besten eingesetzt werden.

Was sind Kommissioniersysteme?

Nicht für alle ist die Frage selbstverständlich. Damit werden wir sie erst beantworten. Stellen Sie sich ein großes Lager vor. In Regalen oder auf Paletten sind viele Artikel oder Halbprodukte gelagert. Der Kunde oder die Produktion bestellt eine bestimmte Anzahl von Artikeln. Jeder von uns hat schon etwas online bestellt, oder …?

Der Auftrag wird erst geprüft und der Lagerbestand kontrolliert. Ist die Ware vorhanden, generiert das WMS (Warehouse-Management-System) einen Kommissionierauftrag. Bestimmte Artikel oder Produkte müssen jetzt aus dem Lagerfächern in den passenden Mengen gesucht und für die Verpackung mitgenommen werden. Der Vorgang wird „Kommissionierung“ genannt.

Genau jetzt kommen die Kommissioniersysteme zum Einsatz. Sie sollen den Mitarbeiter im Lager bei der Kommissionierung unterstützen. Je nach Lagertyp gibt es hier viele Anforderungen. Die Firma LUCA entwickelt und liefert gerade verschiedene Kommissioniersysteme, um eine optimale Leistung und Qualität zu garantieren. Lesen Sie noch mehr über die Kommissionierung bei Wikipedia.

Wenn Sie mehr erfahren wollen, dann lesen Sie weiter, oder sprechen Sie einfach mit uns: Kontakt

Das beste Kommissioniersystem?

Viele Wissenschaftler und Forscher beschäftigen sich mit dieser Frage schon seit einigen Jahren. Immer wieder werden wir gefragt, ob es Kommissioniersysteme gibt, die alles können. Die Frage ist vergleichbar mit: „Welches Auto ist das Beste?“

Die Antwort ist hier sehr einfach: „keines der Kommissioniersysteme ist das Beste“. Es ist einfach nicht möglich eine einzige Lösung zu bauen und damit alle Aufgaben und Anforderungen zu erfüllen. Jedes Lager ist anders. Jeder Kundenauftrag und jede Branche hat eigene Schwerpunkte. Wir haben bei LUCA die Aufgabe vor Jahren schon verstanden und bieten daher ALLE Kommissioniersysteme an. Dank der professionellen Software des LUCA-Servers werden die unterschiedliche Technologien gemeinsam gesteuert.

Sicherlich sind einige Lösung so spezifisch, dass sie nur bei bestimmten Anforderungen Sinn machen. Einige davon sind aktuell sehr standardisiert und erfüllen sehr gut die meisten Aufgaben. Einige davon sind neu und sehr innovativ. Ob die Innovationen wirklich praxistauglich sind, wird sich später noch herausstellen.

Die wichtigsten Unterschiede zwischen den Systemen

In der ersten Linie müssen wir die Kommissioniersysteme nach Art der Automatisierung unterscheiden. In einigen Lägern und Produktionen macht es keinen Sinn, eine komplexe und teuere Automation zu verwenden. Anderseits ist ein Hochleistungs-Versand-Lager ohne Automation nicht vollstellbar. Daraus resultiert folgende Aufteilung:

  • Voll-Automatische Kommissionierung
  • Halb-Automatische Kommissionierung mit Fördertechnik
  • Manuelle Kommissioniersysteme

Voll-Automatische Kommissionierung

Eine Voll-Automatische Kommissionierung ist nur bei bestimmten Artikel und meistens bei sehr hohen Leistungen einsetzbar. Auch die sehr hohe Kosten müssen die Investitionen rechtfertigen. Anderseits, sind die vollautomatische Kommissioniersysteme dort einsetzbar, wo eine absolut hohe Qualität erwartet wird (z.B. Apotheken). Die Ware wird voll automatisch kommissioniert und zu der Verpackung z.B. über eine Fördertechnik transportiert. Der Nachschub bei den vollautomatisierten Anlagen erfolgt ebenfalls oft automatisch. Bei der Methode müssen die Artikel, wie auch die Verpackungen bestimmte Voraussetzungen erfüllen.

Um eine vollautomatische Anlage betreiben zu können, ist ein hochqualifiziertes technisches Personal erforderlich. Die ständige Überwachung der Systeme und sofortige Reaktion bei Störungen sind zwingend erforderlich.

Auf Grund der hohen Kosten und speziellen Artikeln-Merkmalen sind die Voll-Automatische-Kommissioniersysteme nicht sehr oft verbreitet.

Halb-Automatische Kommissionierung mit Fördertechnik

Eine Halb-Automatische Kommissionierung ist oft mit einer Fördertechnik ausgestattet. Ein Beispiel dafür sind die klassischen Versand-Anlagen. Bei der Vorbereitungen der Kartons sind automatische oder manuelle Kartonaufrichter im Einsatz. Die Kartons fahren gezielt über die Fördertechnik zu den einzelnen Kommissionierzonen. Und gerade dort sind die verschiedene Kommissioniersysteme im Einsatz. Je nach Lagertyp wird Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Scan, Pick-by-Watch, etc. eingesetzt.

Welche Kommissioniertechnik dort eingesetzt wird, hängt wieder stark von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Hier ist die A/B/C Analyse, wie auch das Artikel-Spektrum und die Verpackung entscheidend. Paletten, Gitterboxen, Durchlaufregale, Fachbodenregale, etc. gehören auch zu den wichtigsten Kriterien bei der Entscheidung über die Kommissioniermethode.

Nach der Kommissionierung verlassen die Kartons oder Behälter wieder die Kommissionierzonen und gelangen über die Fördertechnik zu dem Warenausgang. Dort erfolgt eine Endverpackung, Versand-Kennzeichnung und der Versand selbst. Dort sind auch oft Statische- oder Durchlauf-Waagen im Einsatz. Das tatsächliche Versandgewicht spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei den Kosten.

Grundsätzlich sind die Halb-Automatische Kommissionieranlagen sehr verbreitet. Anders als bei den Voll-Automatischen-Anlagen spielt der Mensch hier eine entscheidende Rolle.

Es war mal ein Roboter …

An der Stelle möchte ich einen Beispiel aus der Praxis nennen, den ich bei einem Kunden erlebt habe. Dieser Beispiel soll es zeigen, wie ein Lager gerade NICHT umgebaut soll.

Die Geschichte spielte ca. im Jahr 2001. Der Kunde hat eine gut funktionierende manuelle Kommissionierung gehabt. Den gesamten Tagesbedarf haben 3 Kommissionierer erledigt. Eine relativ überschaubare Pick-by-Light Anlage mit eine kleinen Fördertechnik wurde als Kommissioniersystem verwendet. Der Kunde hat Handys kommissioniert. Aus welchen Grund auch immer, hat die Geschäftsleitung entschieden ein KUKA-Roboter für die Kommissionierung zu verwenden, der vollautomatisch die Handys kommissionieren soll.

Die Idee war erst nicht schlecht. 24 Stunden lang kommissionieren. Das Handy-Geschäft war sehr zukunftsorientiert. Die Artikel waren klar definiert: kleine Karton. Die Pick-by-Light Regale und die Fördertechnik wurden umgebaut. Der Roboter mit seinem bunten Arm war endlich da. Die Inbetriebnahme war relativ Problemlos. Der einziger Roboter hat die gleiche Leistung erbracht, wie die drei Kommissionierer. Alles war gut, aber …

Manchmal hat der Roboter jedoch den Karton mit dem Handy nicht optimal gegriffen. Vielleicht lagen die Kartons in den Regalen nicht so ganz optimal. Es gab einige Störungen pro Schicht. Die Behebung der Störungen war nicht immer so ganz einfach. Also … Fachpersonal her!

Anstatt 3 Kommissionierer, musste die Firma 4 hochbezahlte und hochqualifizierte Techniker für den Betrieb einstellen, die 24 Stunden den Roboter überwacht haben. Nach einigen Monaten Betrieb musste der Roboter leider einen anderen Einsatz finden.

Es ist also nicht immer Sinnvoll eine Automation einzuführen. Erst muss eine korrekte Planung und Verständnis für der Problematik da sein. Im nächsten Kapitel werden wir Ihnen eine korrekte Vorgehensweise darstellen.

Die korrekte Planung und das Konzept

Wir erleben es oft, dass der Kunde schon bei der Anfrage sehr auf eine bestimmte Technik fixiert ist. Manchmal sind das die neuen Modeerscheinungen, wie Pick-by-Vision und manchmal die bewährten Technologien, wie Pick-by-Light oder Pick-by-Voice. Immer wieder steht nicht der Prozess und das Konzept, sondern nur die Technik im Vordergrund. Leider ist das nicht optimal. Ohne eine korrekte Aufgabenanalyse können keine optimalen Kommissioniersysteme aufgebaut werden.

Das richtige Kommissioniersystem finden?

Vor Jahren waren nur Zettel oder HDT-Scanner im Einsatz. Nur einige Firmen konnten sich das bewährte Pick-by-Light oder Pick-by-Voice leisten. Mit der technischen Entwicklung ist die Anzahl der Möglichkeiten und Lösungen sehr gestiegen. Die Auswahl der Technologie soll sich aber nicht an der „Mode“, sondern an den realen Bedürfnissen der Mitarbeiter und Prozesse orientieren. Die Kommissioniersysteme sollen immer unterstützend und nicht als Kontrollmechanismen der Mitarbeiter dienen.

Um die Frage zu beantworten, muss der Planer erst den aktuellen und geplanten Prozess richtig detailliert verstehen. Wir erleben es leider oft, dass das nicht der Fall ist. Erst nach der gründlichen Analyse kann das passende Kommissioniersystem ausgewählt werden. Wir bieten auch Workshops und beantworten nicht nur Ihre Fragen, sondern bieten danach konkrete Lösungen an. Sprechen Sie mit uns.

Kombination der Kommissioniersysteme

Als besonders effizient stellen sich einige Kombinationen der Kommissioniersysteme dar. Als Beispiel ist hier sehr gut das Problem mit den Checksummen und Leistung des klassischen Pick-by-Voice geeignet. Bei hoher Leistung muss der Mitarbeiter sehr viel mit dem System „sprechen“; Bestätigung der Gasse, Bestätigung der Checksumme, Bestätigung der Menge, eventuelle Bestätigung der Charge. Das alles kostet sehr viel Zeit. Außerdem muss der Mitarbeiter noch eine gute räumliche Orientierung haben, um die Lagerorte zu finden. Die Orientierungsprobleme und die lästigen Bestätigungen der gleichen Checksumen, die sowieso auswendig gelernt werden, löst die Kombination mit dem Pick-by-Point®.

Das Pick-by-Point® Licht zeigt das Lagerfach mit einem großen Punkt. Der Mitarbeiter bestätigt dann nur die entnommene Stückzahl. Die Kombination der Kommissioniersysteme ist sehr effizient und flexibel.

Warum ist LUCA dann so besonders?

Auf dem Markt gibt es viele Anbieter für einzelne Kommissioniersysteme. Das reicht aber nur selten, um eine optimale Lösung anzubieten. Wir liefern alle Systeme aus einer Hand und steuern sie zentral über unsere Software des LUCA-Servers. Wir unterstützen unsere Kunden und Planer nicht nur bei der Erstellung der Systeme, sondern auch bei der Planungsphase.

Die LUCA-Systeme steuern die Kommissionierung und der Materialfluss die gesamten Werke, wie auch einzelne kleine und große Anlagen. Wir pflegen seit Jahren sehr gute Partnerschaften mit unseren Hardware-Lieferanten und bieten nur die besten Komponenten an (z.B. Zebra, SICK, Datalogic, etc.)

Fazit

LUCA bietet viele Kommissioniersysteme, wodurch eine optimierte Lösung erstellt werden kann. In einigen Fällen ist es sinnvoll, die einzelnen Systeme sogar als Kombination zu verwenden. Der Focus bei der Planung soll das Konzept und die Lösung und nicht nur die Technik sein. Sprechen Sie mit uns. LUCA ist auf Kommissioniersysteme sehr spezialisiert und entwickelt professionelle Lösungen für die Lagerlogistik und Produktion.