High-bay warehouse

What is a high-bay warehouse?

A high bay warehouse is a warehouse with racks, or more precisely, a storage system with high racks. It can have a height from 12 to a maximum height of 50 meters. This results in high space utilization and storage capacity for a few hundred to tens of thousands of pallet spaces. High-bay warehouses - also called HRL for short - are usually steel structures, but in some cases they can also be made of wood.

Versions

There are different designs of high-bay warehouses: For example, fully automatic high-bay warehouses in silo design, but also manually operated racking systems and rack systems are possible. In between there are some other construction variants and forms. For example, one speaks of silo construction when the rack is designed to support both the roof and the facade.

Single-deep storage is mostly used as storage technology, since here, in contrast to double racking, access to the picking locations and thus the goods is possible directly. This is the most common principle of warehousing, as only one storage unit is ever stored in the depth of the racks. Therefore, single-depth storage is very suitable for automation, for example for an automated small parts warehouse (AS/RS).

What is a high-bay warehouse used for?

A high-bay warehouse is used for the storage of goods and merchandise. Here, both long goods and flat goods are distinguished. When storing goods on pallets in the pallet warehouse, care should be taken to ensure optimum use of space in order to utilize the full capacity of all areas.

How does a high-bay warehouse work?

The function of storing and retrieving pallets in a high-bay warehouse is given by a warehouse management system (WMS) or warehouse management software. This system communicates with a material flow computer and controls the material flow including the conveyor technology, the storage and retrieval machines (SRM) and any other technology of trades within the building (hall or rack storage).

In each aisle between two rows of racks there is both a storage area and a retrieval area. Here in the so-called pre-storage area of a high-bay warehouse, the goods are delivered and picked up by the storage and retrieval machine for storage or deposited for retrieval.

Storage or retrieval is performed by moving the stacker crane in longitudinal direction, e.g. on rails. Stacker cranes can be controlled automatically or manually. SRMs are operated manually when "person to goods" picking takes place in the pre-zone. When the "goods to person" picking is done, the stacker crane control is automatic. In the case of automatic operation, this part of the warehouse must be protected against access by persons by means of fences, light barriers, etc.

In the automatically operated high-bay warehouse, the movement of the individual load units to the forklift transfer points is carried out by the conveyor system. Conveyor technology also includes components such as chain conveyors, lift tables, vertical conveyors or automated guided vehicles. If the high-bay warehouse is operated manually, the foremost first places in the shelves are always provided for the forklift transfer points

Advantages

  • Low use of personnel
  • Optimal use of space and area
  • Fast storage and retrieval of goods
  • Direct access to individual pallets
  • Easy adaptation to changed product assortment
  • Several possible uses and combinations with other systems, especially for order processing at picking islands, such as with Pick-to-Light, Voice Picking, etc.

Disadvantages

  • Very high investment costs
  • Extensive organization necessary even before commissioning
  • Possibility of total failure
  • High-bay warehouses are only expandable to a limited extent

Conclusion

Although a high level of investment is required to implement this storage solution, high-bay warehouses have become indispensable in logistics as well as intralogistics.

Through the use as well as the flexibility of different picking systems and solutions and in combination with a good warehouse management as well as material flow system, a high bay warehouse is optimally suited for warehousing and picking.

" Back to Glossary Index

Hochregallager

Was ist ein Hochregallager?

Ein Hochregallager ist ein Lager mit Regalen, genauer gesagt ein Lagersystem mit Hochregalen. Es kann eine Höhe von 12 bis zu einer Maximalhöhe von 50 Metern haben. Dadurch ergibt sich eine hohe Raumausnutzung und Lagerkapazität für ein paar hundert bis zigtausende von Palettenstellplätzen. Hochregallager – auch kurz HRL genannt – sind meist Stahlkonstruktionen, können vereinzelt aber auch aus Holz sein.

Es gibt verschiedene Ausführungen von Hochregallagern: Zum Beispiel vollautomatische Hochregallager in Silobauweise, aber auch manuell bediente Regalanlagen und Regalsysteme sind möglich. Dazwischen gibt es noch einige andere Bauvarianten und Formen. Man spricht zum Beispiel von Silobauweise, wenn das Regal so konstruiert ist, dass es sowohl das Dach als auch die Fassade trägt.

Als Lagertechnik wird meist die einfachtiefe Lagerung verwendet, da hier im Gegensatz zu einem Doppelregal der Zugriff auf die Kommissionierplätze und somit die Waren direkt möglich ist. Hierbei handelt es sich um das gebräuchlichste Prinzip der Lagerhaltung, da in der Tiefe der Regale immer nur eine Lagereinheit gelagert wird. Daher eignet sich die einfachtiefe Lagerung sehr gut für die Automatisierung, zum Beispiel für ein Automatisches Kleinteilelager (AKL).

Wofür wird ein Hochregallager verwendet?

Ein Hochregallager verwendet man für die Lagerung von Waren und Gütern. Hierbei werden sowohl Langgüter als auch Flachgüter unterschieden. Bei der Einlagerung der Güter auf Paletten in das Palettenlager sollte auf eine optimale Raumnutzung geachtet werden, um die volle Kapazität aller Flächen auszunutzen.

Wie funktioniert ein Hochregallager?

Die Funktion des Ein- und Auslagerns von Paletten in ein Hochregallager ist über ein Lagerverwaltungssystem (LVS) bzw. Lagerverwaltungssoftware gegeben. Dieses System kommuniziert mit einem Materialflussrechner und steuert den Materialfluss inklusive der Fördertechnik, der Regalbediengeräte (RBG) und der ggf. weiteren Technik von Gewerken innerhalb des Gebäudes (Halle oder Regallager).

In jeder Gasse zwischen zwei Regalreihen gibt es sowohl einen Ein- als auch einen Auslagerungsbereich. Hier in der sogenannten Vorzone eines Hochregallagers werden die Waren angeliefert und vom Regalbediengerät für die Einlagerung abgeholt oder für die Auslagerung abgelegt.

Die Ein- oder Auslagerung erfolgt durch Fahrt des Regalbediengerätes in Längsrichtung, z.B. auf Schienen. Regalbediengeräte können automatisch oder manuell gesteuert werden. RBGs werden manuell bedient, wenn in der Vorzone die “Person zu Ware”-Kommissionierung erfolgt. Wenn die “Ware zu Person” kommissioniert wird, erfolgt die Steuerung des RBGs automatisch. Beim Automatikbetrieb muss dieser Teil des Lagers durch Zäune, Lichtschranken etc. vor Zutritt von Personen abgesichert werden.

Beim automatisch betriebenen Hochregallager erfolgt die Bewegung der einzelnen Ladeeinheiten zu den Gabelstapler-Übergabepunkten durch die Fördertechnik. Zur Fördertechnik gehören auch Komponenten wie zum Beispiel Kettenförderer, Hubtische, Vertikalförderer oder Fahrerlose Transportfahrzeuge. Wird das Hochregallager manuell betrieben, sind jeweils die vordersten ersten Plätze in den Regalen für die Gabelstapler-Übergabepunkte vorgesehen. 

Vorteile

  • Geringer Einsatz von Personal
  • Optimale Flächen- und Raumausnutzung
  • Schnelle Ein- und Auslagerung der Güter
  • Direkter Zugriff auf einzelne Paletten
  • Einfache Anpassung an geändertes Warensortiment
  • Mehrere Einsatz- und Kombinationsmöglichkeiten mit anderen Systemen möglich, insbesondere bei der Auftragsbearbeitung an Kommissionier-Inseln, wie z.B. mit Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, etc.

Nachteile

  • Sehr hohe Investitionskosten
  • Umfangreiche Organisation schon vor der Inbetriebnahme nötig
  • Möglichkeit des Totalausfalls
  • Hochregallager sind nur begrenzt ausbaufähig

Fazit

Um diese Lagerlösung zu realisieren, ist zwar ein hoher Einsatz von Investitionen erforderlich, aber dennoch sind Hochregallager in der Logistik als auch Intralogistik nicht mehr wegzudenken.

Durch den Einsatz sowie die Flexibilität von verschiedenen Kommissionier-Systemen und -Lösungen und in Verbindung mit einem guten Lagerverwaltungs- sowie Materialfluss-System, ist ein Hochregallager optimal für die Lagerhaltung und Kommissionierung geeignet.

« Back to Glossary Index