Pick by Vision


Data glasses: a fascination or a toy ?

Is the solution suitable for storage?


The fad of recent years - Pick by Vision - we presented at the LogiMAT 2015. Since then, various studies have been carried out with renowned companies and scientific institutions. Unfortunately, it turned out that the cognitive ergonomics of the solutions is inadequate. Very often the solution is replaced after 2-3 months by Pick-by-Tablet or Pick-by-Watch.

Data goggles in stock?

Why are data glasses (Pick-by-Vision) in the warehouse favored as an order picking system by managers and decision makers? We ask ourselves this question again and again when the press or publications report about Google Glass or other comparable products. The fascination for it is only rather large: "That did not exist yet ...". That's right, I did.

After the investigation of the fascinating Pick-by-Vision technique and its suitability for the rough and permanent use in warehouses, we notice again and again that people tend to want to try out the playful character of the solution. Unfortunately, it soon turns out that the "toy" is currently uncomfortable and not usable and not suitable for logistics.

In between there are even good solutions for spectacle wearers. However, those who do NOT wear glasses are forced to violate their own personal sphere through the data glasses. No wonder that the first fascination with Pick-by-Vision is quickly over and it is put aside and forced to be set by other techniques such as Pick-by-Tablet, Pick-by-Watch or even Pick-by-Light and Pick-by-Voice.

What does the order picker actually need?

That really is the crucial question! Actually, it's all about information. For simple processes, the input of a storage location and the quantity is sufficient. There are enough other technical possibilities to give the information to the employee. Then why the data glasses? I don't know, I don't know!

The future of data glasses in logistics

No one can predict the future. One thing is certain: the technology is being further developed and in certain areas, such as technical service, assistance and training purposes, the data glasses are already providing and will continue to provide excellent services. I wonder if she'll really find a home in the camp someday. Let's see... we're definitely in!

Pick by Vision Datenbrille
Die Modeerscheinung der letzten Jahre – Pick-by-Vision – haben wir auf der LogiMAT 2015 vorgestellt. Seitdem wurden mit renommierten Firmen und wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen diverse Studien dazu durchgeführt. Leider stellte sich heraus, dass die kognitive Ergonomie der Lösungen unzureichend ist. Sehr oft wird die Lösung nach 2-3 Monaten durch Pick-by-Tablet oder Pick-by-Watch ersetzt.

Datenbrille: eine Faszination oder ein Spielzeug ?

Ist die Lösung fürs Lager geeignet?

Datenbrille im Lager?

Warum werden die Datenbrillen (Pick-by-Vision) im Lager durch Manager und Entscheider favorisiert? Die Frage stellen wir uns immer wieder, wenn in der Presse oder Publikationen über Google-Glas oder andere vergleichbare Produkte berichtet wird. Die Faszination dafür ist erst ziemlich groß: „Das gab es noch nicht …“. Das stimmt.

Nach den Untersuchungen der faszinierenden Pick-by-Vision Technik und deren Eignung für die raue und dauerhafte Nutzung im Lager, stellen wir immer wieder fest, dass die Menschen dazu neigen, den spielerischen Charakter der Lösung ausprobieren zu wollen. Leider stellt sich danach sehr schnell heraus, dass aktuell das „Spielzeug“ ungemütlich und nicht brauchbar und für die Logistik nicht geeignet ist.

Zwischendurch gibt es sogar gute Lösungen für die Brillenträger. Die NICHT-Brillenträger werden aber dabei gezwungen, die eigene Persönlichkeitssphäre durch die Datenbrille zu verletzen. Kein Wunder, dass die erste Faszination mit der Pick-by-Vision schnell vorbei ist und sie an die Seite gelegt wird und zwangsweise durch anderen Techniken wie Pick-by-Tablet, Pick-by-Watch oder sogar Pick-by-Light und Pick-by-Voice, setzt werden muss.

Was braucht eigentlich der Kommissionierer?

Das ist wirklich die entscheidende Frage! Eigentlich geht es nur um Informationen. Bei einfachen Prozessen reicht die Eingabe von einem Lagerort und der Stückzahl. Dafür gibt es genug andere technische Möglichkeiten, um dem Mitarbeiter die Informationen zu geben. Warum dann die Datenbrille? Keine Ahnung!

Die Zukunft der Datenbrille in der Logistik

Die Zukunft kann niemand vorhersagen. Eins steht fest, dass die Technik weiter entwickelt wird und in bestimmten Bereichen, wie technischer Service, Assistenz und Schulungszwecke, die Datenbrille hervorragende Dienste bereits leistet und leisten wird. Ob sie wirklich irgendwann im Lager ein Zuhause findet? Mal schauen … wir sind auf jeden Fall dabei!