ABC analysis

What is ABC analysis?

The aim of ABC analysis in logistics is to achieve optimal warehousing. The most important factors are: Storage costs, storage value, physical storage, stock level, quantity share, turnover share, etc.

The method is based on a three-level classification (ABC classification) of the products or goods in the warehouse. The principle of ABC analysis is very simple. However, the effort required to prioritise and decide on each item requires high resources to perform the allocation to the ABC classes. This is also the biggest disadvantage of ABC analysis. The value determined is always a compromise.

The ABC analysis has great importance in every warehouse.

The goods are distributed or cumulated in the warehouse according to different priorities (routes, total value, customers, category, etc.). Before distribution, the proportions must be correctly determined.

The presentation of the quantities (mostly in percent) is based on the data collected via various tools. The IT systems today offer clear advantages. There are no limits to creativity here. Despite the technology, the parts of the ABC analysis have to be done with common sense. This task is a continuous process of analysis and improvement.

The ABC analysis in the warehouse also helps in the decisions for selecting the appropriate picking methods (such as. Pick-to-Light, Voice Picking, Pick-by-Point, etc.). 

History of ABC analysis

The general ABC analysis was developed by a renowned Italian economist Vilfredo Pareto (1848 to 1923). H. Ford Dickie, manager at General Electric, further developed the method in the 1950s and applied the results to the field of materials management.

"Back to Glossary Index

ABC-Analyse

Ziel der ABC-Analyse in der Logistik ist eine optimale Lagerhaltung. Die wichtigsten Faktoren sind: Lagerkosten, Lagerwert, die physikalische Lagerung, der Lagerbestand, Mengenanteil, Umsatzanteil, etc.

Die Methode basiert auf einer dreistufigen Klassifizierung (ABC-Einteilung) der Produkte oder Güter im Lager. Das Prinzip der ABC-Analyse ist sehr einfach. Jedoch erfordert der Aufwand für die Priorisierung und Entscheidung zu jedem Artikel hohe Ressourcen, um die Aufteilung auf die ABC-Klassen durchzuführen. Das ist auch der größte Nachteil der ABC-Analyse. Der ermittelte Wert ist immer ein Kompromiss.

Die ABC-Analyse hat eine große Bedeutung in jedem Lager.

Die Ware wird im Lager nach verschiedenen Prioritäten verteilt bzw. kumuliert (Laufwege, Gesamtwert, Kunden, Kategorie, etc.). Vor der Verteilung müssen die Anteile korrekt ermittelt werden.

Die Darstellung der Mengen (meistens in Prozent) basiert auf den erfassten Daten über verschiedene Tools. Die IT-Systeme bieten heute eindeutige Vorteile. Hier gibt es keine Grenzen der Kreativität. Trotz der Technik müssen die Teile der ABC-Analyse mit gesundem Menschenverstand gemacht werden. Diese Aufgabe ist ein kontinuierlicher Prozess der Analyse und Nachbesserung.

Die ABC-Analyse im Lager hilft auch bei den Entscheidungen zur Auswahl der passenden Kommissioniermethoden (wie Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Pick-by-Point, etc.). 

Geschichte der ABC-Analyse

Die allgemeine ABC-Analyse wurde von einem renommierten italienischen Ökonom Vilfredo Pareto (1848 bis 1923) entwickelt. H. Ford Dickie, Manager bei General Electric, hat die Methode in den 1950er-Jahren weiter entwickelt und die Ergebnisse in dem Bereich der Materialwirtschaft angewendet.

« Back to Glossary Index