Container logistics

What is container logistics?

Container logistics is also part of the big topic of logistics. Container logistics refers to container traffic, i.e. the transport of goods in or on containers. In this process, goods and merchandise are transported in containers from one place to another. These container transports are mostly handled by transport companies, which use the various means of transport such as trucks, trains or ships for the transport logistics.

Main processes of container logistics

In addition to storage and transport, the three main processes of container logistics include the handling or transhipment of goods and merchandise. This refers to the process when goods and merchandise change the means of transport, e.g. from a truck to the railroad or to a ship.

Container types

In container logistics, different types of containers are used for container transport: for example, open and large containers. Logisticians also commonly refer to these as standard containers.

Companies and logisticians mostly use open containers when removing/transporting goods by a truck. The container is placed in the appropriate place, if necessary, first unloaded and then filled. Large containers are mostly used for shipping, e.g. overseas. The respective goods and commodities are transported in containers for import as well as export by ship.

Important tasks

The services associated with container logistics - consulting, planning, loading and unloading, and storage, i.e. the entire process - are now part of a well thought-out solution and are offered and carried out by various logistics companies. Digitalization, for example, helps with the transparency of individual procedures and processes.

Other important tasks in container logistics are the inspection/maintenance/repair of all related components, such as the containers themselves as well as all other working and operating equipment.

Container logistics in connection with additional technology

To support the picking processes, entrepreneurs and logisticians in container logistics additionally use suitable picking methods, such as Pick-by-Tablet or Pick-by-Scan. For logisticians in the field of transportation/container logistics less suitable picking methods are Pick-to-Light and Voice Picking.

" Back to Glossary Index

Containerlogistik

Was ist Containerlogistik?

Die Containerlogistik gehört auch zum großen Thema Logistik. Unter Containerlogistik versteht man den Containerverkehr, also den Transport von Gütern in bzw. auf Containern. Dabei werden Güter und Waren in Containern von einem Ort zu einem anderen transportiert. Diese Containertransporte werden meist durch Transportunternehmen abgewickelt, die für die Transportlogistik die verschiedenen Transportmittel wie LKWs, Züge oder Schiffe einsetzen.

Hauptprozesse der Containerlogistik

Zu den drei Hauptprozessen der Containerlogistik gehört neben dem Lagern und dem Transport der Umschlag bzw. das Umschlagen von Waren und Gütern. Damit bezeichnet man den Vorgang, wenn Güter und Waren das Transportmittel wechseln, z.B. von einem LKW auf die Bahn oder auf ein Schiff.

Containerarten

In der Containerlogistik werden für den Containerverkehr verschiedene Arten von Containern verwendet: zum Beispiel offene und große Container. Logistiker bezeichnen diese auch allgemein als Standardcontainer.

Unternehmen und Logistiker setzen offene Container meist beim Abtransport/Transport von Gütern durch einen LKW ein. Der Container wird an dem entsprechenden Ort aufgestellt, ggf. erst entladen und dann befüllt. Große Container finden meist ihre Verwendung bei der Verschiffung, z.B. nach Übersee. Die jeweiligen Güter und Waren werden dabei in Containern für den Import als auch Export per Schiff transportiert.

Wichtige Aufgaben

Die zur Containerlogistik gehörenden Leistungen bzw. Dienstleistungen Beratung, Planung, Be- und Entladung und Lagern, also die komplette Abwicklung, gehört heutzutage zu einer durchdachten Lösung und werden durch verschiedene logistische Unternehmen angeboten und ausgeführt. Die Digitalisierung zum Beispiel hilft bei der Transparenz der einzelnen Abläufe und Prozesse.

Andere wichtige Aufgaben in der Containerlogistik, sind die Inspektion/Wartung bzw. Instandhaltung/Reparatur sämtlicher dazu gehörenden Komponenten, wie die Container selbst als auch alles andere an Arbeits- und Betriebsmitteln.

Containerlogistik in Verbindung mit zusätzlicher Technik

Zur Unterstützung bei den Kommissionierprozessen setzen Unternehmer und Logistiker in der Containerlogistik zusätzlich geeignete Kommissioniermethoden ein, wie z.B. Pick-by-Tablet oder Pick-by-Scan. Für Logistiker im Bereich Transportwesen/Containerlogistik weniger geeignete Kommissioniermethoden sind Pick-by-Light und Pick-by-Voice.

« Back to Glossary Index