Buffer store

Understanding, planning and using buffer stocks correctly. Processes in a company getting bogged down and leading to disruptions can have very different causes. The supply of components for production can be delayed and disrupt or block available transport routes. Market demand is subject to fluctuations. Technical problems in the company's own operations can also lead to an impairment of the production processes and the associated replenishment. A buffer stock can absorb the aforementioned imponderables.

What is a buffer store?

Buffer storage connects two successive process stages to ensure a smooth flow without disruptions in production, picking or delivery.

advantages and disadvantages

A buffer store offers the following advantages:

  • Increasing productivity by using the required space and thus ensuring the supply of the various processes.
  • Availability of goods in buffer stock prevents delays in material flow and interruptions in production processes.
  • The connection with other work areas such as order picking, set formation, replenishment control but also storage of goods accelerate the processes.
  • Likewise, the optimal use of storage space leads to synergy effects.
  • Products in the buffer can be subjected to subsequent testing without affecting the process itself. 

Disadvantages arise from:

  • Cost of the storage system, equipment and storage (space required, shelving, etc.).
  • Organizational and administrative effort of the processes in the buffer store.

Concept of a buffer store

In a buffer store (also referred to as short-term storage, compensating storage or interim storage), materials are temporarily stored that are needed again in the production process after a short period of time.

By definition, buffer stock must ensure a speedy and trouble-free production process. Intermediate storage is often required in logistics at goods receipt and goods issue or between two successive production stages. In buffer stores, there is usually no fixed storage location for the stored goods. The structure of the buffer store and its size depend on the operational requirements in the process stages, the resulting storage costs and the risk of possible disruptive factors.

When planning a buffer storage or short-term storage in intralogistics, the available buffer areas, the production program, the storage system and also the work processes that are carried out must be taken into account. In order to be able to store the required materials, in addition to sufficient storage space, a continuous and punctual supply of the production process as well as the capacity for incoming goods must be ensured.

In addition, a buffer store must be set up where the goods are needed. It should be placed as close as possible to the points of consumption. Buffer storage can be designed as block storage (without racks) or with racks, e.g. as single racking or as a pallet flow racking system (PDS) with shuttle support or also as carousel racking. 

Conclusion

Depending on the process step, short-term storage facilities form a reserve between two work stages and can absorb fluctuations in the process and thus prevent a production stoppage. There is a direct relationship between the safety and the economic efficiency of a buffer store.

While a small warehouse with few storage locations in the system can be operated more economically because it incurs lower costs, too small a buffer can then lead to a system standstill in the system. With a large warehouse, safety increases but the costs for setup and operation also increase.

"Back to Glossary Index

Pufferlager

Pufferlager richtig verstehen, planen und anwenden. Das Abläufe in einem Unternehmen in Stocken geraten und zu Störungen führen, kann ganz unterschiedliche Ursachen haben. Die Belieferung mit Komponenten für die Produktion kann sich verzögern und verfügbare Transportwege stören oder blockieren. Die Marktnachfrage unterliegt Bedarfsschwankungen. Auch technische Probleme im eignen Betrieb können zur Beeinträchtigung der Produktionsprozesse und damit verbundenen Nachschub führen. Ein Pufferlager kann die vorgenannten Unwägbarkeiten abfangen.

Was ist ein Pufferlager?

Pufferlager verbindet zwei aufeinanderfolgende Prozessstufen, um einen reibungslosen Ablauf ohne Störungen in der Produktion, Kommissionierung oder Auslieferung zu gewährleisten.

Vorteile und Nachteile

Folgende Vorteile bietet ein Pufferlager:

  • Erhöhung der Produktivität durch die Nutzung der erforderlichen Fläche und damit die Sicherstellung der Versorgung der verschiedenen Prozesse.
  • Verfügbarkeit der Waren im Pufferbestand verhindert Verzögerungen im Materialfluss und Unterbrechungen der Produktionsprozesse.
  • Die Verbindung mit anderen Arbeitsbereichen wie zum Beispiel Auftrags-Kommissionierung, Set-Bildung, Nachschubsteuerung aber auch Einlagerung von Gütern beschleunigen die Abläufe.
  • Ebenso führt die optimale Nutzung der Lagerflächen zu Synergie-Effekten.
  • Produkte im Puffer können einer nachträglichen Prüfung unterzogen werden, ohne den Prozess selbst zu beeinflussen. 

Nachteile entstehen durch:

  • Kosten für das Lagersystem, die Einrichtung und Lagerung (benötigte Platz, Regale etc.).
  • Organisations- und Verwaltungsaufwand der Abläufe im Pufferlager.

Konzept eines Pufferlagers

In einem Pufferlager (auch als Kurzzeitlager, Ausgleichslager oder Zwischenlager bezeichnet), werden Materialien zwischengelagert, die nach einer kurzen Zeit wieder im Produktionsablauf benötigt werden.

Per Definition muss der Pufferbestand einen zügigen und störungsfreien Produktionsablauf sicherstellen. Oft werden Zwischenlager in der Logistik am Warenein- und Warenausgang oder auch zwischen zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Produktionsstufen benötigt. In Pufferlagern gibt es meistens keinen festen Ablageort für die Lagergüter. Der Aufbau des Pufferlagers und seine Größe ist abhängig von den betrieblichen Erfordernissen in den Prozessstufen, den daraus entstehenden Lagerkosten und der Gefahr von möglichen Störfaktoren.

Bei der Planung eines Pufferlagers bzw. Kurzzeitlager in der Intralogistik sind die verfügbare Pufferflächen, das Produktionsprogramm, das Lagersystem und auch die Arbeitsabläufe, die durchgeführt werden, zu berücksichtigen. Um die benötigen Materialien lagern zu können, muss neben genügend Lagerplätzen auch eine kontinuierliche und pünktliche Versorgung des Produktionsprozesses als auch die Kapazität für eingehende Waren sichergestellt sein.

Darüber hinaus muss ein Pufferlager dort eingerichtet werden, wo die Waren benötigt werden. Es sollte so nah wie möglich an den Verbrauchsstellen platziert sein. Pufferlager können als Blocklager (ohne Regale) oder mit Regalen z. B. als Einfachregal bzw. als Palletten-Durchlauf-Regalsystem (PDS) mit Shuttle-Unterstützung oder auch als Umlaufregal ausgelegt werden. 

Fazit

Kurzzeitlager bilden je nach Prozessschritt eine Reserve zwischen zwei Arbeitsstufen und können Schwankungen im Ablauf abfangen und damit einen Produktionsausfall verhindern. Es besteht ein direktes Verhältnis zwischen der Sicherheit und der Wirtschaftlichkeit eines Pufferlagers.

Während ein kleines Lager mit wenigen Lagerplätzen in der Anlage wirtschaftlicher betrieben werden kann, weil es geringere Kosten verursacht, kann ein zu geringer Puffer dann zu einem Anlagenstillstand im System führen. Mit einem großen Lager steigt die Sicherheit aber auch die Kosten für die Einrichtung und den Betrieb erhöhen sich.

« Back to Glossary Index