Two-stage picking

In this article we describe two-stage picking in logistics and show you the advantages and disadvantages of the process.

What is two-stage picking?

Two-stage picking is a picking process in which order control and picking are not carried out immediately, but in two stages. Depending on the storage type and storage zones, the orders are first picked cumulatively by the picker and then distributed to the individual orders at the packing station. The process is often supported by a sorting system.

How exactly does the process work?

The prerequisite for two-step picking is a certain quantity of individual sales orders (goods) that can be grouped together to form a total order (order pool or batch).

The merchandise management or warehouse management system cumulates the orders together and calculates the optimum combination of orders. In this picking process, the volume of the items and the containers must also be taken into account.

The storage type is crucial for the management, or more precisely for the wave management of two-stage picking. In intralogistics, the goods issue process and return storage is often supported by distribution systems (sorters) to simplify sorting at the second stage.

1st stage of two-stage picking

In the first stage of two-stage picking, the picker collects as many items (goods) as possible from a storage compartment in the storage zone, item by item. This saves him walking through several picking zones (optimization of walking times). The picker places the articles in one or more boxes (but it is not Multi-Order-Picking).

The decisive factor here is that the order picker counts the correct number of items on an item-by-item basis when picking.

2nd stage of two-stage picking

Once the removal of the items in the warehouse is complete, the picker transports his boxes to a distribution station for sorting. Only there does the order-oriented sorting to the individual customer orders take place. Each article is scanned and sorted with the help of a distribution system.

The picking process is only completed after the two-stage sortation.

Conclusion

  1. Stage:
    Two-stage picking is very suitable for large total quantities of orders. The advantage here is that the picker(order picker) can pick many items from one storage compartment at the same time. A large order is split up. This saves the picker the distances. Disadvantage compared to single-stage picking is that the picker may have to count out large numbers of items from a storage compartment, although the possible error is not very critical here.
  2. Stage:
    In the second stage, the articles are assigned to the orders with a distribution system. For this purpose, each article is scanned and assigned to the appropriate order.

Two-step picking is very effective, but requires complex technical support and for the single order a large total amount of customer orders. Here the procedure differs significantly from the single-stage picking. Picking can also be performed by untrained personnel.

The supporting systems

Two-stage picking cannot be implemented without the support of picking systems. Various systems such as: Pick-to-Light, Voice Picking, Pick-by-Point®, Pick-by-Frame®, etc. are used for support here. 

Further details can be found in the following articles:
Pick-to-Light - picking with compartment displays
Voice Picking - voice-guided picking
Pick-by-Point - the simple picking method with light
Pick-by-Frame - the innovation for Multi-Order-Picking

Related topics

Picking time, partial orders, storage location, dead time, picking time, base time, picking performance, order lead times, distribution time, compilation, lead times.

"Back to Glossary Index

Zweistufige Kommissionierung

In diesem Artikel behandeln wir das Thema der zweistufigen Kommissionierung und zeigen Ihnen die Vor- und Nachteile des Kommissionierverfahrens.

Was ist eine zweistufige Kommissionierung?

Zweistufige Kommissionierung ist ein Kommissionierverfahren in dem die Auftragssteuerung und die Entnahme nicht sofort, sondern zweistufig erfolgt. Je nach Lagertyp und Lagerzonen, werden die Versandaufträge von dem Kommissionierer erst an der Endestelle zu Aufträgen zusammengefast. Das Verfahren wird oft von einem Sortiersystem unterstützt.

Wie funktioniert genau das Verfahren?

Voraussetzung für die zweistufige Kommissionierung ist eine bestimmte Menge von einzelnen Kundenaufträgen, die zu einem Gesamtauftrag (Auftragspool oder Batch) zusammengefasst werden können.

Das Warenwirtschafts- oder Lagerverwaltungssystem kumuliert die Aufträge zusammen und errechnet die optimale Kombination der Aufträge. In diesem Kommissionierverfahren muss auch das Volumen der Artikel und der Behälter berücksichtigt werden.

Der Lagertyp ist für das Management, oder genauer für das Wellenmanagement der zweistufigen Kommissionierung, entscheidend. In der Intralogistik wird der Warenausgangsprozess und die Rücklagerung oft durch Verteilsysteme (Sorter) unterstützt, um das Sortieren bei der zweiten Stufe zu vereinfachen.

Die erste Stufe der zweistufigen Kommissionierung

In der ersten Stufe der zweistufigen Kommissionierung sammelt der Kommissionierer in der Lagerzone artikelweise möglichst viele Artikel (Ware) aus einem Lagerfach. Dadurch spart er die Laufwege durch mehrere Kommissionierzonen (Optimierung der Wegzeiten). Der Picker legt die Artikel in einen oder in mehrere Boxen ab (es ist jedoch kein Multi-Order-Picking).

Entscheidend ist hier, dass der Kommissionierer bei der Entnahme die korrekte Stückzahl artikelbezogen abzählt.

Zweite Stufe der zweistufigen Kommissionierung

Ist die Entnahme der Artikel im Lager abgeschlossen, transportiert der Kommissionierer seine Boxen zu einer Verteilungsstation für die Sortierung. Erst dort erfolgt die auftragsorientierte Sortierung auf die einzelnen Kundenaufträge. Jeder Artikel wird dabei gescannt und mit Hilfe von einem Verteilsystem sortiert.

Erst nach der zweistufigen Sortierung ist der Kommissioniervorgang abgeschlossen.

Fazit

Zusammengefasst. Die zweistufige Kommissionierung ist für große Gesamtmengen sehr gut geeignet. Vorteil der ersten Stufe ist, dass der Picker (Kommissionierer) viele Artikel aus einem Lagerfach entnehmen kann. Ein großer Gesamtauftrag wird artikelweise kommissioniert. Dies spart dem Kommissionierer die Wegstrecken. Nachteil gegenüber der einstufigen Kommissionierung ist, dass der Kommissionierer eventuell große Stückzahlen aus einem Lagerfach abzählen muss, wobei ein Fehler hier nicht sehr kritisch ist.

In der zweiten Stufe werden die Artikel den Kundenaufträgen mit einem Verteilsystem zugeordnet. Dafür wird jeder Artikel gescannt und verteilt. Die zweistufige Kommissionierung ist sehr effektiv, bedarf jedoch komplexer technischer Unterstützung und für den Gesamtauftrag große Gesamtmengen an Kundenaufträgen. Das Kommissionieren kann auch durch ungeschultes Personal durchgeführt werden.

Die unterstützenden Systeme

Die zweistufige Kommissionierung ist ohne Unterstützung von Kommissioniersystemen nicht realisierbar. Zur Unterstützung werden hier verschiedene Kommissioniermethoden, wie Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Pick-by-Point®, Pick-by-Frame®, etc. verwendet. 

Weitere Details dazu erfahren Sie in folgenden Artikeln:
Pick-by-Light – Kommissionierung mit Fachanzeigen
Pick-by-Voice – die sprachgeführte Kommissionierung
Pick-by-Point – die einfache Kommissioniermethode mit Licht
Pick-by-Frame – die Innovation für Multi-Order-Picking

Vergleichbare Kommissionierverfahren:

Folgende Verfahren sind vergleichbar:
Einstufige Kommissionierung
Serielle Kommissionierung
Parallele Kommissionierung
Serienorientierte Kommissionierung

Verwandte Themen

Greifzeit, Teilaufträge, Lagerplatz, Totzeit, Kommissionierzeit, Basiszeit, Kommissionierleistung, Auftragsdurchlaufzeiten, Verteilzeit, Zusammenstellung, Durchlaufzeiten.

« Back to Glossary Index