eCommerce

requirements of the industry are very strong on Quantity oriented. Fast shipment of shipments, with a maximum number of ordered items, is the goal. Subsequent deliveries should be avoided as far as possible. Nevertheless, a strong flow of returns can be expected here.


Quantities or quality in eCommerce?

Depending on the item value and other specific requirements (batches, serial numbers, etc.), more or less attention is paid to quality when picking e-commerce items. The strong quantity- and performance-oriented work, as well as the fast fluctuation of employees, require simple and self-explanatory picking systems (such as Pick-by-LightPick-by-Frame®, Pick-by-Point®). The systems must be very flexible and quickly adaptable. Due to the high performance Pick-by-Voice only conditionally suitable for this.

Manual or Automatic?

Strong automation is not always well suited for eCommerce. Depending on the seasonal utilisation of the individual warehouses, simple and flexible systems are often better. With a constant performance of the warehouse and constant personnel, fully automated warehouses controlled by upgraded conveyor technology and material flow systems are often the better solution.

single picking

This method involves an order that is to be picked from the warehouse. The not very effective manual method is still often used in many eCommerce warehouses where paper lists are still used. The routes of the employees in the daily routine are not optimal. The method is well suited for large orders with high volumes and express orders. If an automatic conveyor system with material flow control is used with the method, the performance can be increased significantly. To support this picking method and above all to ensure quality, LUCA has various systems available: Pick-by-Scan, Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voicematerial flow systems. The decision as to which method is best suited for eCommerce use is worked out in the workshops together with the planners and customers.

Multi-Order-Picking

With this method, several orders are picked simultaneously on one picking trolley. Several articles for several orders are taken from one storage compartment and distributed directly in a suitable manner. With a single pass through the warehouse, several orders are to be picked at the same time. Picking with a paper picking list is not suitable for this and should only be carried out by experienced employees due to possible errors. The problem with the method without technical support is that the distribution of the removed articles in the appropriate quantities into the appropriate compartments often leads to confusion. LUCA supports this method with various suitable systems (see Pick-by-Cart or Pick-by-Frame®). In order to make a decision for the right method, various facts and factors must first be analysed in workshops.

multi-step picking

In large warehouses with a versatile article and order structure, it often makes sense to divide picking into two stages. At the beginning a batch with N orders is formed. In the first stage, all articles from the batch are picked from the warehouse in collection boxes or containers in a route-optimized manner. In the second step, the articles are scanned from the activated batch (advantage: additional quality assurance, disadvantage: renewed handling) and sorted into the target compartments (orders). LUCA provides various systems for support in both stages.

packing

After all picked articles have been assigned to an order, the packages are packed and prepared for dispatch. The packing stations are equipped with delivery note and shipping label printers, cardboard boxes, special labels, etc. depending on the workflow and requirements. Some highly automated systems use carton sealers and automatic labelling stations for this purpose.

Consolidation & Sorting

For large-volume orders, the individual cartons or even several pallets must be brought together and prepared for dispatch. LUCA provides different methods for consolidation. The individual cartons and pallets are also sorted manually or fully automatically according to destination, country or consignor at the goods issue. The outgoing goods area is often equipped with a suitable conveyor system.

eCommerce

Anforderungen der Branche sind sehr stark mengenorientiert. Schnelle Versand der Sendungen, mit einer maximalen Anzahl der bestellten Artikel, ist das Ziel. Nachlieferungen sollen möglichst vermieden werden. Trotzdem ist ein starker Retouren-Fluss hier zu erwarten.

Mengen oder Qualität bei eCommerce?

Je nach Artikelwert und weiteren spezifischen Anforderungen (Chargen, Seriennummern, etc.), wird beim Kommissionieren der eCommerce-Artikel mehr oder weniger auf die Qualität geachtet. Die starke Mengen- und Leistungsorientierte-Arbeit, wie auch die schnelle Fluktuation der Mitarbeiter, erfordern einfache und selbsterklärende Kommissionersysteme (wie z.B. Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Frame®, Pick-by-Point®). Die Systeme müssen sehr flexibel und schnell anpassbar sein. Aufgrund der hohen Leistung ist Pick-by-Voice dafür nur bedingt geeignet.

Manuell oder Automatisch?

Nicht immer ist für eCommerce eine starke Automation gut geeignet. Je nach Saison-Auslastung der einzelnen Lager sind hier einfache und flexible Systeme oft besser. Bei einer konstanten Leistung des Lagers und konstantem Personal, sind vollautomatisierte Lager, die durch ausgebaute Fördertechnik und Materialfluss-Systeme gesteuert werden, oft die bessere Lösung.

Single-Picking

Bei diese Methode handelt es sich um einen Auftrag, der aus dem Lager kommissioniert werden soll. Die nicht sehr effektive manuelle Methode wird heute noch oft in vielen eCommerce Lägern, in dem noch Papierlisten verwendet werden, benutzt. Die Laufwege der Mitarbeiter im Tagesablauf sind nicht optimal. Die Methode ist für Großaufträge mit viel Volumen und Express-Aufträge gut geeignet. Wird bei der Methode eine automatische Fördertechnik mit einer Materialfluss-Steuerung eingesetzt, kann die Leistung deutlich erhöht werden. Um diese Kommissioniermethode zu unterstützen und vor allem die Qualität zu sichern, stehen bei LUCA diverse Systeme zur Verfügung: Pick-by-Scan, Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Voice, Material-Flow-Systems. Die Entscheidung, welche Methode für den eCommerce-Einsatz am besten geeignet ist, wird im Rahmen der Workshops gemeinsam mit den Planern und Kunden ausgearbeitet.

Multi-Order-Picking

Bei der Methode werden auf einem Kommissionierwagen gleichzeitig mehrere Aufträge kommissioniert. Aus einem Lagerfach werden mehrere Artikel für mehrere Aufträge entnommen und direkt passend verteilt. Mit einem einzigen Durchgang durch das Lager, sollen gleichzeitig mehrere Aufträge fertig kommissioniert werden. Die Kommissionierung mit einer Papier-Kommissionierliste ist hierfür nicht geeignet und soll auf Grund der möglichen Fehler nur von erfahrenen Mitarbeitern erfolgen. Das Problem der Methode ohne technische Unterstützung ist, dass die Verteilung der entnommenen Artikel in den passenden Mengen in die passenden Fächer oft zu Verwechselungen führt. LUCA unterstützt diese Methode mit diversen dafür gut geeigneten Systemen (siehe Pick-by-Cart oder Pick-by-Frame®). Um eine Entscheidung für die richtige Methode zu treffen, müssen erst diverse Fakten und Faktoren in Workshops analysiert werden.

Multi-Steps-Picking

In großen Lagern mit vielseitiger Artikel- und Bestell-Struktur ist es oft sinnvoll, die Kommissionierung in zwei Stufen zu unterteilen. Am Anfang wird ein Batch mit N Aufträgen gebildet. In der ersten Stufe werden alle Artikel aus dem Batch wegeoptimiert aus dem Lager in Sammelboxen oder Containern kommissioniert. In der zweiten Stufe werden die Artikel aus dem aktivierten Batch gescannt (Vorteil: zusätzliche Qualitätssicherung, Nachteil: erneutes Handling) und in die Zielfächer (Aufträge) sortiert. Für die Unterstützung in beiden Stufen stehen bei LUCA diverse Systeme zur Verfügung.

Packing

Nachdem alle kommissionierten Artikel einem Auftrag zugeordnet sind, werden die Pakete verpackt und für den Versand vorbereitet. Die Packplätze werden je nach Arbeitsablauf und Bedarf mit Lieferschein- und Versandetiketten-Druckern, Kartonagen, Sonderetiketten, etc. ausgestattet. An einigen hoch automatisierten Anlagen werden dafür Kartonverschließer und automatische Etikettierstationen eingesetzt.

Consolidation & Sorting

Bei großvolumigen Aufträgen müssen die einzelnen Kartons oder auch mehrere Paletten zusammengeführt und für den Versand vorbereitet werden. Für die Konsolidierung stehen bei LUCA unterschiedliche Methoden zur Verfügung. Die einzelnen Kartons und Paletten werden auch je nach Ziel, Land oder Versender am Warenausgang entsprechend manuell oder vollautomatisch sortiert. Der Warenausgang wird oft mit einer passenden Fördertechnik ausgestattet.