Pick by Voice

Pick by Voice is a special type of picking system. The order picker communicates directly with the controller via voice, whereby the commands are optimized to the necessary minimum. The employee is to Pick by Voice and are not overloaded. He then hears the work instructions via a headset. The high quality microphone allows its speech input. The speech analysis and speech synthesis takes place directly in an efficient voice terminal, which the employee carries with him. The communication between the Voice Terminal and the LUCA-Server is done directly via the local WLAN.

Share this article:

In this and other articles we would like to introduce you not only to our LUCA systems and their use, but also to give you a detailed insight into the various possible combinations. We will also explain to you how this Pick by Voiceworks and what advantages and disadvantages the system has. In addition, which picking systems fit together and how they are best used. Stay tuned.

Speech recognition in everyday life

Speech recognition is nothing special today. Smartphones, voice input in the car, voice-controlled mailbox, etc. are part of everyday life. However, all these systems work very differently. Almost all online systems send voice input to a large server in a data center. There, very fast computers process the speech input, analyze it and return the result as text. Some systems that do not have a direct Internet connection, such as cars, work offline. The entire speech analysis takes place directly on-board in a powerful computer.

That's exactly how the Pick by Voicesystem works, offline. In a warehouse, the environment is sometimes very harsh. Lots of background noise and traffic. As a result, special conditions must be observed for voice control in the warehouse. The language is therefore used as communication between the employee and the control system.

Despite the background noises and many disturbing factors, you have to keep the optimal orientation and especially the safety. The Pick by Voice Hardware is specially designed for this purpose and is fully LUCA-Server integrated as a picking system. As a system provider we also combine Pick by Voice with other technologies: Pick-by-Light, Pick-by-Point®, Pick-by-Scan, Pick-by-Watch, etc.

Read more on Wikipedia if required

Registration with Pick by Voice

Before starting work, the employee logs on using his or her 3-digit or 4-digit language number. Registration is required to adjust its optimal settings, such as microphone sensitivity, headset volume, speed of speech output and, most importantly, speech. The system saves all these settings on the LUCA-Server off. The employee can change his voice terminal at any time and is not permanently assigned to the device. At the end of work or during a break, the employee logs off using special voice commands.

Pick by Voice checksums

In a standard Pick by Voiceprocess, the employee must confirm the arrival at a warehouse compartment with a checksum via voice (e.g. "59 OK"). This secures the wrong access to the storage compartments. Unfortunately, with small systems, the checksums are often memorized by the employees, which can lead to confusion. The use of barcode scanners (article number) or ePaper displays can help as a solution. On the ePaper, the checksums are changed in an hourly cycle, for example, so that the checksums cannot be memorized by the employees.

Pick by Voice components

The headsets

The headset is connected to a mobile terminal. For safety reasons, only one-sided headsets may be used in the warehouse. The ambient noises of forklift drivers, materials handling equipment and other employees must not be switched off. Special microphones that Pick by Voicesuppress the disturbing ambient noise. The headsets can be replaced by special safety vests with built-in microphones and speakers. We only use professional headsets from Sennheiser or equivalent manufacturers.

The Voice Terminal

The voice terminals are small, lightweight and powerful computers that are mostly worn on the belt. The battery supply of the devices is sufficient for the entire shift. The batteries must then be replaced and recharged. In the past, voice terminals were only equipped with one or two buttons. Today we use modern smart devices with touch screens and partly built-in scanners. Depending on your needs we also combine this Pick by Voicewith Pick by WatchThe system is designed to provide employees with optimum information and user-friendliness.

Speech recognition

Our speech recognition is text-oriented and was optimally selected by us as a system provider. The pronunciation of the employees does NOT have to be taught in the Pick by Voicesystem (speaker-independent recognition). The speech recognition system recognizes the individual words, numbers, sequences, etc. and supplies the LUCA-Server the necessary information. In response, the process control sends corresponding voice commands. If required, various language versions are available for foreign employees. Read more about supported languages below in this article.

scanner

In some applications, the employee must enter item numbers, serial numbers, or batches. A barcode scanner is Pick by Voiceintegrated into the system for this purpose. Depending on the frequency of use, the integrated scanners of the voice terminal or separate small back-of-hand scanners are used. By using the scanners, the acquisition costs increase, but they significantly improve the quality as well as the picking performance of the system.

The batteries

The powerful LiIo batteries are sufficient for a whole shift without any problems. Depending on the hardware used, it is sometimes even possible to replace the batteries within 30 seconds during operation. The voice terminal does not switch off.

For charging the batteries there are various charging stations (also multiple ones) available. The batteries can be recharged either in the voice terminal or in a separate charging station. The charging times depend on the capacity of the battery and are between 2-3 hours.

In accordance with the safety regulations for LiIo batteries, the charging stations are always located in safe places and are clearly visible. We pay great attention to the correct and professional execution of the systems.

Pick by Voice dialogues

In every warehouse the processes are somewhat different. Of course, it is basically a matter of picking, but this must usually be carried out in different ways. For this reason, it is hardly possible to create a standard voice dialog that meets all requirements.

However, a simple example of a withdrawal is intended to briefly illustrate the possible procedure:

  • System: "Go to lane 3"
  • Employees: "3 OK"
  • System: "Go to square A03564"
  • Employees: "75 OK"
  • System: "5 pieces"
  • Employees: "5 OK"
  • etcetera

The dialogs are customer-specific and are very suitable for slow picking. Even the simple example shows how many actions must take place during a withdrawal.

settings

Not every employee is the same. The new employees first have to understand the voice commands correctly. The experienced, on the other hand, want to play the voice commands very quickly. Depending on the environment and habits, the volume must be adjusted. The system saves all these personal settings on the LUCA-Server and reactivates it after each login.

But how can the employee comfortably make Pick by Voiceall these settings? Of course via special voice commands. Every employee will complete a short training course before starting work. He can learn about the special voice commands that are basically very easy to remember, e.g.:

  • "LUCA quieter" and "LUCA louder" adjust the volume of the headset
  • "LUCA slower" and "LUCA faster" slows down or accelerates the speech output in HeadSet.
  • "Info battery" provides the state of charge
  • etc.

All settings are easily LUCA-Servertraceable on the control panel.

Supported Pick by Voicelanguages

In this we Pick by Voicedistinguish between speech recognition and speech output. After logging in (login with numbers), which always takes place in a national language, each employee is assigned his language and the corresponding files are loaded. Each language version is associated with separate language licenses, which are, however, very quickly amortized by international crews. The use of different languages is very advantageous in this case.

Voice recognition (voice input)

The following languages are available for speech recognition:

  • Arabic (Gulf region)
  • Bulgarian (Bulgaria)
  • Cantonese (Hong Kong)
  • Czech (Czech Republic)
  • Danish (Denmark)
  • Dutch (Netherlands, Belgian)
  • English (USA, England, Australia, Scotland, Ireland, India, South Africa)
  • farsi
  • Finnish (Finland)
  • French (Canada, France)
  • English (Germany)
  • Greek (Greece)
  • Hebrew (Israel)
  • Hindi (India)
  • Hungarian (Hungary)
  • Indonesian (Indonesia)
  • Italian (Italy)
  • Japanese (Japan)
  • Korean (South Korea)
  • Mandarin (China)
  • Norwegian (Bokmal, Norway)
  • Polish (Poland)
  • Portuguese (Portugal, Brazil)
  • Russian (Russian Federation)
  • Sichuanese (China)
  • Slovak
  • Spanish (Spain, Catalan, Basque, Mexico)
  • Swedish (Sweden)
  • Thai (Thailand)
  • Turkish (Turkey)

Voice output (Voice-Output)

Pick by Voice supports two different methods of speech output:

  • Natural language, created by a speaker
  • Artificial speech created by a program (speech synthesis)

What is the difference between the two language outputs? The natural language is more pleasant for the employee to be higher. It does, however, have some drawbacks. New commands must be separately recorded, edited and Pick by Voicemanually inserted into that. With artificially created speech (speech synthesis), the speech output is output as read text. Synthetic speech output is already at a very high level today. It is very flexible, but cannot replace the natural language 100%.

Modern navigation systems can be a very good example of artificial language. Sometimes the expenses sound a little strange, but this is basically not an obstacle for the deployment.

The following languages of speech synthesis are available to us:

  • Arabic
  • basque
  • Bengali (India)
  • Bhojpuri (India)
  • Bulgarian (Bulgaria)
  • Cantonese (Hong Kong)
  • Catalan
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dongbei (China)
  • Dutch (Belgium, Netherlands)
  • English (Australia, Great Britain, India, Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, USA)
  • farsi
  • Finnish
  • French (Canada, France)
  • Galician
  • English
  • Greek
  • Hebrew
  • Hindi
  • Hungarian
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Kannada
  • Korean
  • Malay
  • Mandarin (China, Taiwan)
  • Marathi
  • Norwegian
  • polish
  • Portuguese (Brazil, Portugal)
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Shanghai (China)
  • Sichuanese
  • Slovak
  • Spanish (Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Spain)
  • Swedish
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Thai
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian
  • Valencian
  • Vietnamese

The development continues. We will certainly update the list of languages again soon.

Conclusion

LUCA offers several picking systems, which allows an optimized solution to be created. One of them is also Pick by Voice. The system is very popular for large parts picking, where voice commands rarely need to be used. Other systems are available for fast picking of small parts. Due to a large number of supported language versions, the Pick by Voice very good for the foreign employees, whereby even the handling of the system has to be learned first.

Home » Kommissioniersysteme » Pick by Voice

Pick by Voice

Pick by Voice ist eine spezielle Art der Kommissioniersysteme. Direkt über die Sprache kommuniziert der Kommissionierer mit der Steuerung, wobei die Befehle auf das notwendige Minimum optimiert werden. Der Mitarbeiter soll von Pick by Voice optimal unterstützt und nicht überlastet werden. Über ein Headset hört er dann die Arbeitsanweisungen. Das hochqualitative Mikrofon ermöglicht seine Spracheingaben. Die Sprachanalyse und Sprachsynthese erfolgt direkt in einem leistungsfähigen Voice-Terminal, den der Mitarbeiter bei sich trägt. Die Kommunikation zwischen dem Voice-Terminal und dem LUCA-Server erfolgt direkt über das lokale WLAN.

In diesem und weiteren Beiträgen möchten wir Ihnen nicht nur unsere LUCA-Systeme und deren Einsatz vorstellen, sondern auch einen genauen Einblick in die verschiedenen Kombinationsmöglichkeiten detailliert geben. Wir werden Ihnen auch erklären, wie das Pick by Voice funktioniert und welche Vor- und Nachteile das System hat. Außerdem, welche Kommissioniersysteme zusammen passen und wie sie am besten eingesetzt werden. Bleiben Sie dran.

Die Spracherkennung im Alltag

Eine Spracherkennung ist heute nichts Besonderes. Die Smartphones, Spracheingaben im Auto, sprachgesteuerte Mailbox, etc. gehören zum Alltag. Allerdings arbeiten alle diese Systeme ganz unterschiedlich. Fast alle Online-Systeme senden die Spracheingabe zu einem großen Server in einem Rechenzentrum. Dort verarbeiten sehr schnelle Computer die Spracheingaben, analisieren sie und liefern das Ergebnis als Text zurück. Einige Systeme, die keine direkte Internetverbindung haben, z.B. Autos, arbeiten offline. Die gesamte Sprachanalyse findet in einem leistungsstarken Rechner direkt on-board statt.

Genau so, also offline, arbeitet auch das Pick by Voice System. In einem Warenlager ist die Umgebung manchmal sehr hart. Viele Nebengeräusche und viel Verkehr. Demzufolge müssen bei der Sprachsteuerung im Lager besondere Bedingungen beachtet werden. Die Sprache wird also als Kommunikation zwischen dem Mitarbeiter und dem Steuerungssystem eingesetzt.

Trotz der Nebengeräusche und vielen Störfaktoren müssen Sie die optimale Orientierung und besonders die Sicherheit behalten. Die Pick by Voice Hardware ist speziell dafür geeignet und wird voll auf dem LUCA-Server als Kommissioniersystem integriert. Als System-Anbieter kombinieren wir auch Pick by Voice mit anderen Technologien zusammen: Pick-by-LightPick-by-Point®Pick-by-ScanPick-by-Watch, etc.

Bei Bedarf lesen Sie mehr dazu auf Wikipedia

Anmeldung bei Pick by Voice

Vor dem Arbeitsbeginn meldet sich der Mitarbeiter mit seiner 3- oder 4-stelligen Nummer per Sprache an. Die Anmeldung ist erforderlich, um seine optimalen Einstellungen, wie Mikrofon-Empfindlichkeit, Headset-Lautstärke, Geschwindigkeit der Sprachausgabe und vor allem die Sprache, einzustellen. Alle diese Einstellungen speichert das System auf dem LUCA-Server ab. Der Mitarbeiter kann jederzeit sein Voice-Terminal wechseln und ist dem Gerät nicht fest zugeordnet. Nach dem Arbeitsende oder während einer Pause meldet sich der Mitarbeiter über spezielle Sprachbefehle wieder ab.

Pick by Voice Checksummen

In einem Standard Pick by Voice Prozess muss der Mitarbeiter die Ankunft an einem Lagerfach durch eine Checksumme per Sprache bestätigen (z.B. “59 OK”) . Das sichert die falschen Zugriffe auf die Lagerfächer ab. Leider werden bei kleinen Anlagen die Checksummen von den Mitarbeitern oft auswendig gelernt, was zu Verwechselungen führen kann. Als Lösung hierfür kann der Einsatz von Barcode-Scannern (Artikelnummer) oder ePaper-Displays helfen. Auf dem ePaper werden die Checksummen in einem z.B. Stundentakt gewechselt, somit können die Checksummen von den Mitarbeitern nicht auswendig gelernt werden.

Pick by Voice Komponenten

Die Headsets

Das Headset wird an einem mobilen Terminal angeschlossen. Aus Sicherheitsgründen dürfen im Lager nur einseitige Headsets verwendet werden. Die Umgebungsgeräusche von Staplerfahrern, Fördertechnik und anderen Mitarbeitern dürfen nicht ausgeschaltet werden. Spezialmikrophone bei dem Pick by Voice unterdrücken die störenden Umgebungsgeräusche. Die Headsets können durch spezielle Sicherheits-Westen mit eingebauten Mikrophonen und Lautsprechern ersetzt werden. Wir verwenden nur professionelle Headsets von Sennheiser oder gleichwertigen Herstellern.

Das Voice-Terminal

Die Voice-Terminals sind kleine, leichte und leistungsfähige Computer, die meistens am Gürtel getragen werden. Die Batterieversorgung der Geräte reicht für die gesamte Schicht. Danach müssen die Akkus gewechselt und wieder aufgeladen werden. Früher waren die Voice-Terminals nur mit einer oder zwei Tasten ausgestattet. Heute setzen wir moderne Smart-Geräte mit Touch-Screen und teilweise eingebauten Scannern ein. Je nach Bedarf kombinieren wir auch das Pick by Voice mit Pick by Watch, um den Mitarbeiter eine optimale Informationsversorgung und Bedienungsfreundlichkeit zu garantieren.

Die Spracherkennung

Unsere Spracherkennung arbeitet textorientiert und wurde von uns als System-Anbieter optimal ausgewählt. Die Aussprache der Mitarbeiter muss im Pick by Voice System NICHT eingelernt werden (Sprecher-Unabhängige-Erkennung). Das Spracherkennungs-System erkennt die einzelnen Wörter, Zahlen, Sequenzen, etc. und liefert dem LUCA-Server die erforderlichen Informationen. Als Antwort sendet die Prozesssteuerung entsprechende Sprachbefehle. Für die ausländischen Mitarbeiter stehen bei Bedarf diverse Sprachversionen zur Verfügung. Lesen Sie weiter unten in diesem Artikel über die unterstütze Sprachen.

Scanner

In einigen Anwendungen muss der Mitarbeiter Artikelnummer, Seriennummer oder Chargen erfassen. Dafür wird ein Barcodescanner in das Pick by Voice integriert. Je nach Häufigkeit der Anwendung, werden die integrierten Scanner des Voice-Terminals oder separate kleine Handrücken-Scanner eingesetzt. Durch Einsatz der Scanner steigen zwar die Anschaffungskosten, sie verbessern jedoch deutlich die Qualität, wie auch die Kommissionierleistung des Systems.

Die Akkus

Die starken LiIo-Akkus reichen ohne Probleme für eine ganze Schicht. Je nach eingesetzte Hardware besteht manchmal sogar die Möglichkeit die Akkus innerhalb von 30 Sekunden im laufenden Betrieb zu tauschen. Dabei schaltet das Voice-Terminal nicht aus.

Fürs laden der Akkus stehen diverse Ladestationen (auch mehrfache) zur Verfügung. Die Akkus können sowohl in dem Voice-Terminal, wie auch in einer separater Ladestation aufgeladen werden. Die Ladezeiten sind abhängig von der Kapazität des Akkus und betragen zwischen 2-3 Stunden.

Gemäß der Sicherheitsvorschriften für LiIo-Akkus, sind die Ladestationen immer in sicheren Orten und gut sichtbar aufgebaut. Wir achten sehr stark auf die korrekte und professionelle Ausführung der Systeme.

Pick by Voice Dialoge

In jedem Lager sind die Abläufe etwas anders. Natürlich geht es grundsätzlich um eine Kommissionierung, die aber meistens unterschiedlich ausgeführt werden muss. Aus dem Grund ist es kaum möglich, ein Standard-Voice-Dialog zu erstellen, der alle Anforderungen erfüllt.

Ein einfaches Beispiel einer Entnahme soll Ihnen jedoch den möglichen Ablauf kurz darstellen:

  • System: “Gehe zu Gasse 3”
  • Mitarbeiter: “3 OK”
  • System: “Gehe zu Platz A03564”
  • Mitarbeiter: “75 OK”
  • System: “5 Stück”
  • Mitarbeiter: “5 OK”
  • u.s.w

Die Dialoge werden kundenspezifisch erstellt und sind für langsame Kommissionierungen sehr gut geeignet. Schon in dem einfachen Beispiel ist ersichtlich, wie viele Aktionen bei einer Entnahme stattfinden müssen.

Einstellungen

Nicht jeder Mitarbeiter ist gleich. Die neuen Mitarbeiter müssen erst die Sprachbefehle richtig verstehen. Die Erfahrenen dagegen wollen die Sprachkommandos sehr schnell abspielen. Je nach Umgebung und Gewohnheiten muss die Einstellung der Lautstärke erfolgen. Alle diese persönlichen Einstellungen speichert das System auf dem LUCA-Server und aktiviert sie nach jeder Anmeldung wieder.

Aber wie kann der Mitarbeiter bei Pick by Voice alle diese Einstellungen komfortabel vornehmen? Natürlich über spezielle Sprachbefehle. Jeder Mitarbeiter wird vor Beginn der Arbeit eine kurze Schulung absolvieren. Dabei kann er über die spezielle Sprachkommandos erfahren, die grundsätzlich sehr einfach zu merken sind z.B.:

  • “LUCA leiser” und “LUCA lauter” stellt die Lautstärke des Headsets
  • “LUCA langsamer” und “LUCA schneller” verlangsamt oder beschleunigt die Sprachausgabe in HeadSet.
  • “Info Batterie” liefert den Ladezustand
  • etc.

Alle Einstellungen sind einfach auf dem LUCA-Server nachvollziehbar.

Unterstütze Pick by Voice Sprachen

In dem Pick by Voice unterscheiden wir zwischen der Spracherkennung und der Sprachausgabe. Nach der Anmeldung (login mit Nummern), die immer in einer Landessprache erfolgt, werden jedem Mitarbeiter seine Sprache zugeordnet und die entsprechende Dateien geladen. Jeder Sprachversion ist mit separaten Sprach-Lizenzen verbunden, die jedoch sehr schnelle bei internationale Besatzung amortisiert werden. Der Einsatz unterschiedliche Sprachen ist sehr in dem Fall sehr vorteilhaft.

Spracherkennung (Voice-Input)

Folgende Sprachen stehen für die Spracherkennung zur Verfügung:

  • Arabic (Gulf Region)
  • Bulgarian (Bulgaria)
  • Cantonese (Hong Kong)
  • Czech (Czech Republic)
  • Danish (Denmark)
  • Dutch (Netherlands, Belgian)
  • English (USA, England, Australia, Scotland, Ireland, India, South Africa)
  • Farsi
  • Finnish (Finland)
  • French (Canada, France)
  • German (Germany)
  • Greek (Greece)
  • Hebrew (Israel)
  • Hindi (India)
  • Hungarian (Hungary)
  • Indonesian (Indonesia)
  • Italian (Italy)
  • Japanese (Japan)
  • Korean (South Korea)
  • Mandarin (China)
  • Norwegian (Bokmal, Norway)
  • Polish (Poland)
  • Portuguese (Portugal, Brazil)
  • Russian (Russian Federation)
  • Sichuanese (China)
  • Slovak
  • Spanish (Spain, Catalan, Basque, Mexico)
  • Swedish (Sweden)
  • Thai (Thailand)
  • Turkish (Turkey)

Sprachausgabe (Voice-Output)

Pick by Voice unterstützt zwei verschiedene Methoden der Sprachausgaben:

  • Natürliche Sprache, erstellt von einem Sprecher
  • Künstliche Sprache, erstellt von einem Programm (Sprachsynthese)

Wo ist der Unterschied zwischen den beiden Sprachausgaben? Die natürliche Sprache ist für den Mitarbeiter angenehmer zu höher. Sie bring jedoch einige Nachteile mit sich. Neue Befehle müssen gesondert aufgenommen, bearbeitet und in das Pick by Voice manuell eingefügt werden. Bei der künstlich erstellten Sprache (Sprachsynthese) wird die Sprachausgabe als gelesener Text ausgegeben. Die synthetische Sprachausgabe ist heute schon auf einem sehr hohen Niveau. Sie ist sehr flexibel, kann jedoch die natürliche Sprache nicht 100% ersetzten.

Die modernen Navigationssysteme können für die künstlich erstellte Sprache ein sehr gutes Beispiel sein. Manchmal klingen die Ausgaben schon ein wenig fremd, was aber grundsätzlich kein Hindernis für den Einsatz ist.

Folgende Sprachen der Sprachsynthese stehen uns zur Verfügung:

  • Arabic
  • Basque
  • Bengali (India)
  • Bhojpuri (India)
  • Bulgarian (Bulgaria)
  • Cantonese (Hong Kong)
  • Catalan
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dongbei (China)
  • Dutch (Belgium, Netherlands)
  • English (Australia, Great Britain, India, Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, USA)
  • Farsi
  • Finnish
  • French (Canada, France)
  • Galician
  • German
  • Greek
  • Hebrew
  • Hindi
  • Hungarian
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Kannada
  • Korean
  • Malay
  • Mandarin (China, Taiwan)
  • Marathi
  • Norwegian
  • Polish
  • Portuguese (Brazil, Portugal)
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Shanghainese (China)
  • Sichuanese
  • Slovak
  • Spanish (Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Spain)
  • Swedish
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Thai
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian
  • Valencian
  • Vietnamese

Die Entwicklung geht es weiter. Wir werden die Liste der Sprachen sicherlich bald wieder aktualisieren.

Fazit

LUCA bietet mehrere Kommissioniersysteme, wodurch eine optimierte Lösung erstellt werden kann. Eins davon ist auch Pick by Voice. Das System wird sehr gerne bei der Großteile-Kommissionierung eingesetzt, wo die Sprachbefehle selten benutzt werden müssen. Für eine schnelle Kleinteile-Kommissionierung stehen eher andere Systeme zur Verfügung. Durch eine große Anzahl an unterstützten Sprachversionen, eignet sich das Pick by Voice sehr gut für die ausländischen Mitarbeiter, wobei selbst der Umgang mit dem System erst erlernt werden muss.