Phone: +49 5201 8142-0
LUCA Logistic Solutions

What exactly is notification and how important is it for the recipient?

Notification on the phone

Notification (also known as advice note or shipping notification) is precisely the announcement of the delivery to the recipient. The forwarding agent provides the recipient with advance information about the upcoming delivery by e-mail, telephone or text message.

The notification consists of

  • Order number of the recipient
  • Item number
  • Article weight
  • Article quantity
  • Volume
  • Time of delivery to the incoming goods department or date for collection (delivery date)

Wikipedia defines despatch advices as follows:

A shipping notification is the announcement of a warehouse or goods delivery. The shipping notification is sent by the supplier to the recipient of the goods before the goods are delivered. Despatch advices are often used in supply chains in which it can be very important for the recipient of the goods to be informed of the timely or delayed receipt of the goods in order to be able to take precautions if necessary.

Source: Avis (logistics) - Wikipedia

Notification procedure

The forwarder or supplier usually notifies shipments with shipping notices one day before delivery. Notification of collection or delivery is usually given in writing or by telephone 30 days before the delivery date. Some freight forwarders provide notification of delivery at goods receipt one hour before delivery.

The freight forwarder only hands over the delivery documents (delivery bill) to the recipient upon delivery. The recipient should then check the quantity and quality of the goods directly upon delivery.  

Notification ensures optimal use of resources and supply chains. If the supplier notifies incorrectly, the recipient cannot control the organization and the process in the warehouse or department in good time. In order to be able to notify correctly, the supplier should coordinate precisely with the recipient.

Conclusion

A shipping notification (advice note) in logistics is advance information and is only used to announce the goods to the recipient. In the case of delivery, the notification is sent one day in advance and possibly also by telephone one hour directly before delivery. In the case of collection, the notification is sent 30 days in advance in writing.  

Other terms for notification

In payment transactions: payment advice note when paying an invoice.

Many years of experience in paperless picking

Pick-to-Light

" Back to Glossary Index

Was genau ist Avisierung und wie wichtig ist sie für den Empfänger?

Avisierung am Telefon

Avisierung (auch Avis oder Lieferavis) ist genau die Ankündigung der Lieferung an den Empfänger. Die Spedition gibt dem Empfänger die Vorinformationen über die vorstehende Lieferung per E-Mail, telefonisch oder SMS an.

Die Avisierung besteht aus

  • Bestellnummer des Empfängers
  • Artikelnummer
  • Artikelgewicht
  • Artikelmenge
  • Volumen
  • Zeitpunkt der Zustellung in dem Wareneingang oder Termin für die Abholung (Liefertermin)

Wikipedia definiert Lieferavis wie folgt:

Ein Lieferavis (Versandanzeige) ist die Ankündigung einer Lager- bzw. Warenlieferung. Das Lieferavis wird vom Lieferanten an den Empfänger der Ware gesendet, bevor die Ware geliefert wird. Häufig werden Lieferavise in Lieferketten verwendet, in welchen es für den Empfänger der Ware von großer Wichtigkeit sein kann, über den rechtzeitigen oder auch verspäteten Zugang der Ware informiert zu werden, um ggf. Vorkehrungen treffen zu können.

Quelle: Avis (Logistik) – Wikipedia

Ablauf der Avisierung

Der Spediteur oder Lieferant avisiert die Sendungen mit Vorinformationen (eng. shipping notice) meistens einen Tag vor der Lieferung. Die Avisierung für die Abholung oder Zustellung wird in der Regel 30 Tage vor dem Liefertermin schriftlich oder telefonisch gemeldet. Einige Speditionen machen den Avis für die Zustellung am Wareneingang eine Stunde vor der Lieferung.

Erst bei der Lieferung übergibt der Spediteur die Lieferpapiere (Lieferschein) an den Empfänger. Der Empfänger soll dann direkt bei der Anlieferung die Menge und die Qualität der Ware prüfen.  

Die Avisierung sichert eine optimale Anwendung der Ressourcen und der Lieferketten. Avisieren die Lieferanten falsch, kann der Empfänger die Organisation und den Prozess im Lager oder der Abteilung nicht rechtzeitig steuern. Um richtig avisieren zu können, soll sich der Lieferant mit dem Empfänger genau abstimmen.

Fazit

Ein Lieferavis (Avisierung) in der Logistik ist eine Vorinformation und dient nur zur Ankündigung der Ware an den Empfänger. Bei der Zustellung erfolgt die Avisierung einen Tag vorher und eventuell auch telefonisch eine Stunde direkt vor der Lieferung. Bei der Abholung wird der Avis 30 Tage als schriftliche Ankündigung gesendet.  

Andere Begriffe zur Avisierung   

Im Zahlungsverkehr: Zahlungsavis bei Zahlung einer Rechnung.

« Back to Glossary Index